Whip It, Whip It Good

4

July 15, 2010 by Danielle

Meet the Banana Whip-image courtesy of seriouseats.com

July means hot weather and sweaty workouts, and for that, we all deserve a cool treat. Ice cream might be your first thought for a hot weather treat…but that’s only until you meet the banana whip.

Every year during college, I would wait for the summer humidity and heat to hit so I could go to one of my favorite eateries, The Bent Spoon. This small Princeton shop crafts organic sorbets, ice creams and basically every other devilishly delicious baked good you could imagine, but in my eyes, the banana whip reigns supreme. This ice cream like treat is rich, creamy and it literally tastes like heaven. With a description involving the words “creamy” and “rich” you’re probably thinking “That thing is at least 1000 calories, all of which are going straight to my butt.” But oh no, you are quite mistaken. As surprising as it might be, it’s just a banana. I kid you not. All of this deliciousness from a frozen banana put in a food processor.

I’m still counting the days until I can get back to The Bent Spoon for my summertime splendor, but until then I’ve crafted a similar version that tastes just as delicious and once again proves that food can taste good and be good for you.

Homemade Banana Whip

1) Peel a banana and cut it in half.  If you have some bananas that are on the edge of being a bit overripe, this is a great time to use them.

2) Place banana halves in a plastic bag or wrap in saran wrap and freeze them until they’re frozen solid.  I like to put them in at night and in the morning you have yourself a frozen banana.

3) Place frozen bananas in a blender with a little bit of water (less is more here-you only need a teeny tiny bit) and blend until the mixture is thick, creamy and fluffy.   If using a food processor, but I’m just place the bananas in the food processor and process for about 5 minutes, or until the mixture is creamy.

4) Place in a cup grab a spoon and enjoy!

I found these fruity summer desserts from the guru girls.  The recipe for the tangerine ice looks delicious!  Check it out here!

4 thoughts on “Whip It, Whip It Good

  1. Amanda says:

    I live very close to the Bent Spoon! Actually, now I’m one town over. I have never tried the Banana Whip before – I’ll have to go check it out! I’m amazed it’s only banana and water. No secret ice cream or sorbet in there??

    • dmwolfe says:

      You should definitely try it out! I definitely didn’t believe it was just a banana either until I tried it at home. Bent Spoon actually doesn’t use water in their version–I just add a teeny bit of water to make it a bit easier to blend in a blender.

  2. screwdestiny says:

    That sounds SO good! I’ve got to try this soon.

  3. […] You might remember one of my first blog posts about a favorite dessert of mine, the “banana whip”. Just when I thought that the banana whip couldn’t get any better,Tone It Up posted a recipe […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
