Bike to Work Day…Every Day!

3

July 29, 2010 by Danielle

I’ve been a “biker” for a while now, but only in the sense that I would go on training rides over the weekend.   I never really considered biking as  a real means of transportation (i.e. anything beyond running small errands) until I started my most recent job. Now, I’m close enough to bike to work and get my blood pumping in the morning.  It’s a great way to fit in a bit of exercise before the day starts.

I took a brief pit stop during my morning commute to take a picture of the Golden Gate Bridge

Even if you can’t bike all the way to work in the morning, chances are that you can do at least a portion of your commute by bike.   Lots of people  bike to the train station or bus and then take it from there.    If not…maybe you should consider moving to one of the eight bike friendliest cities in the world.

Okay, well maybe moving to a different city or country is a bit extreme, but it’s always fun to dream!  Regardless, biking-whether it be to work or just for a little weekend fun-is a great way to get in some exercise and explore your city in a new way.  Remember–Always wear your helmet!

3 thoughts on “Bike to Work Day…Every Day!

  1. Cristina says:

    I recommend getting a basket for the bike. Makes it so much easier to run errands and such!

  2. Amanda says:

    That’s great that you are able to bike to work! When we first moved to NJ 5 years ago we had one car between the two of us. I biked to and from work about 5 miles away for the first two months until we got a second car that fall. Then it also got colder and darker in the mornings… My husband has just started trying to bike to work occasionally (about 11 miles away by bike) but it’s been so hot here lately that’s been hard to do.

    When we moved to a new apartment in a different town last summer, I explored the area and really got to know it through running and taking some longer bike rides.

  3. screwdestiny says:

    Interesting how not a single one of those cities is in the U.S. I currently live in a rather small town, and any place I want to get to is 5 miles or less. So getting a bike for some transportation would make a lot of sense IF there wasn’t snow on the ground nine months out of the year. I’m not going to buy a bike just so I can ride it for maybe three months a year.

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
