It Can Be Done

7

August 30, 2010 by Danielle

Yesterday I did the San Francisco Triathlon at Alcatraz and it was a blast. The tagline of the event was “it can be done” and I did it! I finished the 1.2 mile swim from Alcatraz Island, 25 mile bike (unexpectedly hilly) and 7 mile run in 3 hours and 30 minutes. The best parts were definitely jumping off of the boat into the Bay with thousands of other people at 7 am and of course the run that went under the Golden Gate Bridge.

I'm On A Boat! Last Picture Before the Swim

This is my second triathlon and it reaffirmed why I love doing these events. Everyone is so nice and encouraging and there are so many amazing athletes of every level out there on the course. From watching Tenille Hoogland take first place for the women to watching Harriet Anderson who is 75 (!) cross the finish line, it’s a great place to be inspired by others. Anyway, before I get too sappy, I just have to say if you’re thinking about doing a triathlon of any distance–definitely do it! It’s so much fun and you’ll definitely discover something about yourself along the way.

I’ll post some action photos soon!

Update:  Check out some of my race photos here!

Thumbs Up for Triathlons! Post Race with my Medal

7 thoughts on “It Can Be Done

  1. screwdestiny says:

    That is awesome! I have so much respect for people who do things like triathlons or marathons because it’s something I couldn’t even imagine doing myself. Glad you had a great time!

  2. Helen Wolfe says:

    Granddaddy and Gram have another item to add to their “Official Brag Book”. We are so justifiably proud of this accomplishment.

  3. Amanda says:

    Congratulations!
    After running my first half marathon, I thought about shorter triathlons, but I don’t know how how I feel about biking or running in wet shorts! haha…

    A friend did a triathlon earlier this summer at a nearby county park and she had hoped the water would be cool and refreshing, but it was during one of our upper 90s heat waves and the lake was like bath water – eww.

    • dmwolfe says:

      Wow! We should switch places-I’ve toyed with the idea of doing a half marathon or marathon but always thought it might be a little bit of a “torture test”. I’m a little ADD when it comes to working out which is why tri’s are great-once you start to get a little bored with one sport, it’s time for the next. You should definitely try it out.
      Also-the technical gear they have for tri’s dries super fast–so no worrying about wet biking butt 🙂

  4. K Shiz says:

    OMG why are you sooo totes HC and the defn of hotness? Also, I like how you are occasionally blonde in your pics. Photographer win! When i finish this med school thing, I’m going to hire you to be motivate and train this lump of lard so that I can eventually do a sprint tri. Emphasis on SPRINT. Strong work, wifi!

  5. […] since the start of my marathon training. I hopped back in the pool for the first time since my triathlon training (and was quickly reminded of my high school swim team days-get me outta here!), did some light yoga […]

  6. […] I’ve done a tri, but running 26.2 miles? Likely to cause pain, check! […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
