Going Green

4

October 21, 2010 by Danielle

The final product!

Even though we’re all about “going green” these days, when it comes to smoothies, green is the last color on my mind.  I’m mostly a fruit based smoothie kind of girl.  Until about two weeks ago.

While reading Runner’s World, I came across  a slew of healthy, post-workout smoothie recipes.  As I was reading through, most of the smoothies involved all of the “usual” suspects; bananas, strawberries, maybe even carrots if things were going to get wild.  Then I got to a low-cal receipe that listed one of the main ingredients as spinach.   “Spinach?!” I thought to myself,   “I use that lovely leafy green in salads and omelettes…not smoothies.  That sounds…disgusting.”

Despite my reservations about adding this iron and nutrient packed heavy hitter to my smoothies, I decided to give it a go.  The result?  Pure heaven.   Moral of the story: When it comes to post-workout nutrition, don’t be afraid to think out of the box by adding some new vegetable ingredients into your fruity mix.

My adapted recipe is below and be sure to check out the rest of the recipes from Runner’s World here

Green Monster

1/2 c. almond milk

3 ice cubes

1 c. fresh spinach

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

1 tablespoon flax seeds

1/2 banana (preferably frozen)

1 packet Stevia sweetner/1 tsp. agave nectar

Add all ingredients into blender and mix until well combined.  Enjoy!  And don’t forget to do your very own “smoothie shake” while you’re mixing your drink.  Check out some great shakes from Tone It Up fans here.

4 thoughts on “Going Green

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tom McFeeley and Caroline McCarthy, DanielleWolfe. DanielleWolfe said: Excuse me-there's something green in my drink. New recipes adapted @runnersworld! Don't forget your @ToneItUp smo… http://wp.me/pYMUp-PkOJB […]

  2. screwdestiny says:

    Sounds good! The green smoothie I love is greenberry Shakeology. It’s delicious! One day I brought it with me to church when I was running late and the girl I was riding with was like, “Gross!” and I said, “No, it’s really delicious!” She tried it and admitted that it was not bad at all. Haha. Ooh, I also really enjoy Naked’s Green Machine juice. Super tasty.

  3. […] afterward (aside from dash off to work). I made a green monster of course! As you might know, I really like green monsters and this time I decided to throw in some kale since I had it on hand. The recipe for this particular […]

  4. […] Fruit-Freeze it and throw it in a smoothie. […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
