How Did You Sweat Today?

5

December 11, 2010 by Danielle

If you read this blog regularly or check out my tweets, you know that I like to ask “How did you sweat today?” on a regular basis.  I always love discovering what my readers are doing to keep healthy and fit and it also gives me great new activities/workouts to try.

So in the spirit of that question, I’m going to share with you how I sweat this morning.  And let me know what you guys are up to!

Treadmill Interval Workout

5 minutes light warmup

2 minutes at 9mph/0 incline (this should be your “all out pace”)

1 minute rest

1 minute at 4.5 mph/5.5 incline (this should be a brisk uphill walk)

1 minute at 7  mph/5.5 incline (now you’re running uphill)

1 minute rest

I did this for 25 minutes total with a “fun” all out sprint at the end.  I love doing high intensity  intervals  because they get your heart pumping and they are great for building speed and starting up EPOC (excess post oxygen consumption).   EPOC basically means that your metabolism will be humming along for hours after you’re done breaking a sweat.

Then I did the lovely Tone It Up abs circuit.  I’ve been including this workout in my regular weekly rotation and you can definitely feel the burn!  Check out the video below:

5 thoughts on “How Did You Sweat Today?

  1. Yesterday I ran 4.66 miles outside. I gave my abs and arms the day off yesterday because they were still feeling the effects of Thursday night’s boot camp class.

    I love Tone It Up videos, I will have to try the one you included!

    • dmwolfe says:

      Nice! Isn’t it freeezing in NJ right now? Even though I was not a big fan of the weather while I was living there, I do miss that awesome feeling you get after you’re done with a winter run.

  2. Nat says:

    I love that ab circuit from K+K. 🙂

  3. […] (yes I sit in sweaty clothes). HIIT and Circuit training also increase your EPOC, better known as excess post exercise consumption. Without getting too complicated, it basically means that you keep burning and churning the […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
