Quick ‘n Dirty Thirty

1

June 10, 2011 by Danielle

Although this workout from Fitness Magazine takes a bit more than 30 minutes to complete, it’s well worth it.

I first tried out this workout last Saturday, but decided my new shoes and my blog provided the perfect opportunity to test it out again.

I’ve run in Asics 2100 series ever since I started running 12 years ago–but I’ve never had a pair that’s this bright and fun!

This gem of a workout from  combines cardio and toning moves all in one, so you’re killing two birds with one stone. It’s also great because it builds muscle endurance by teaching you how to run with tired legs-something that’s inevitable on longer runs.

The workout is below and you can find more great cardio workouts from Fitness magazine here.

What’s your favorite way to combine cardio and toning in one workout? Share in the comments below!

MOVE EFFORT MINUTES
Warm up Easy 5
Speed up Moderate to hard 4
Slow down and stop (or step off machine), then do as many push-ups as possible (on knees or toes) Moderate 2
Resume cardio Moderate to hard 5
Slow down and stop (or step off machine), then do as many regular squats or squat jumps as possible Moderate 2
Repeat the push-up, cardio, squat sequence two times Moderate to hard 18
Recover Easy 1
Sprint Hard 1
Cool down Easy 5

*For each series of the circuit, I completed the first four minutes at an 8 minute pace and the second 5 minutes at a 7:30 pace. For the toning moves, I did squats for one minute and squat jumps for the second minute. I don’t know about you, but I can’t do two straight minutes of “real” push-ups, so I alternated between real push-ups, knee push-ups and tricep dip-kicks.

One thought on “Quick ‘n Dirty Thirty

  1. […] In other news, I’m excited to announce that my little ol’ blog, Eat, Sweat, Smile, has been nominated for a Fitness Magazine Fitterati Award! The award was created this year to recognize fit blogs (flogs?) and I’m extremely honored to be considered. It’s very flattering and shocking to see my blog alongside some of my favorites like Run, Eat, Repeat and Hungry Runner Girl and most importantly to be recognized by one of my favorite magazines. […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
