Making It On Your Own

2

June 16, 2011 by Danielle

I started eating LaraBars about a year ago thanks to Katrina and Karena, the lovely ladies of ToneItUp.com. Since then, I’ve tried a variety of flavors (chocolate chip cookie dough, blueberry muffin and banana bread are my favorites) and I have found that they’re great for fuel to get through a mid-day slump or to eat post-workout. Since I bought my food processor, I’ve been experimenting a bit on my own.

Last night, I tried out a homemade Larabar recipe that I found on OhSheGlows.com. Even though I’m not a vegan, I’m a big fan of the recipes featured on the site because they’re all natural and irresistibly delicious. Good and good for you? I’m in.

So check out the recipe for homemade chocolate chip cookie dough Larabars below along with my little personalized touch.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

1/3 cup chopped dates (without the pits!)

1/2 cup raw cashews

1 Tablespoon semi-sweet chocolate

Pinch of cinnamon

1/2 Teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract

I’m pretty “low-maintenance” when it comes to cooking, so the short version of the recipe? Place a sheet of plastic wrap on a flat surface. Combine all ingredients in a food processor, blend until well mixed. Scoop mixture out of food processor and form into ball.

I would warn against eating the entire Larabar ball...Although it was quite enticing.

Place ball on plastic wrap and cut into even sections. From here you can fashion the mixture into bars or balls or just about any other shape you want. I store individually wrapped bars in the fridge in a plastic bag.

I was feeling particularly  adventures and made another mixture from the same recipe, except for this one, I reduced the cashews to 1/3 c and add a tablespoon or so of chunky peanut butter to make it into peanut butter chocolate chip cookie dough bar. That’s the great thing about homemade-you can make it uniquely yours. Do you have a good for you store-bought favorite that you make at home? Share below!

The finished product! A great snack for any time.

2 thoughts on “Making It On Your Own

  1. Cristina says:

    I bet you could also use cookie cutters and get some some awesome shapes! Makes food more fun that way!

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
