Granola Goodness

7

June 22, 2011 by Danielle

As you might already know I’m crazy about quinoa. It’s versatile and good for you. I’m also love granola, but some kinds go a little overboard with ingredients like butter and sugar. Last night I was scouring the web for a healthy granola recipe that incorporated quinoa-the best of both worlds. I found a great recipe on a new to me blog, Hungry Hungry Hippie. After a bit of tweaking, I came up with a quinoa granola all my own.

Quinoa Granola

The final verdict? This good for you recipe is easy to make, since it only requires six (unprocessed and whole) ingredients. It’s so easy to make that if you want the short story, just throw all of the ingredients into a food procesoor and watch the magic happen. The granola strikes a great balance between salty and sweet, so it’s great with almond milk for breakfast, an afternoon snack or in a dessert yogurt parfait.

In the words of Julia Child, Bon Appetit!

1/3 c. dry quinoa
1/3 cup slivered almonds (or whole if you’re using a food processor/blender)
1 c. oats (oatmeal)
1/3 c. honey
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (I did it to taste…but I figured I’d put a measurement on it)
a pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine dry ingredients in a food processor. Pulse until the almonds are broken into small pieces and the dry ingredients are combined. Add ingredients to a bowl and stir in honey, salt and cinnamon.

Flatten out mixture onto metal baking sheet and bake for about 30 minutes or until the mixture is firm and breaks off in chunks. Remove from oven and let cool completely. Break mixture into pieces and add dried fruit or whatever else floats your boat! Store in an air tight container.

Break me off a piece-a that!

7 thoughts on “Granola Goodness

  1. elise says:

    yum! glad you had success 🙂

  2. Yummy! What a great idea 🙂 I never would have thought of this but I’m definitely gonna give it a try. THANKS!!

  3. Cristina says:

    nom. I might have to try this tomorrow. Can one acquire quinoa in most supermarkets?

    • dmwolfe says:

      Yes! Quinoa has become much more mainstream over the past few years. I know they carry it at Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods and most likely at your neighborhood grocer.

  4. athleticgirl25 says:

    by dry quinoa, do you mean cooked in water first? or just rinsed and raw? sorry a little new to quinoa!

  5. […] crunchy texture and slightly sweet flavor that makes me SOOOO happy. As you might also know, I LOVE GRANOLA. So, I combined these two loves of my life to create the ultimate snack…Kashi Granola bars. […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
