Trying Something New

Leave a comment

August 12, 2011 by Danielle

Even if you don’t believe it from reading my blog (I look pretty ridiculous on here about 98% of the time), I can be shy at times. Don’t get me wrong—I’m not a recluse or anything like that, but new situations where I don’t know anyone make me especially anxious-I usually talk myself into believing that a)I’m really awkward or b)I’m making really awkward conversation.

Me? Awkward? Never.

Anyway, even though some of my loner runs are a great way to get in “me” time, long runs can get kind of lonely,so on Wednesday night (yes, it takes me that long to get pumped up) I decided that I would 100%, without a doubt, go to Lululemon Running+Yoga Club (aka ROGA) all by myself.

I know this doesn’t sound like a big deal to some of you, but for me it is. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like this was the fitness class* that I’ve been to, but with classes like spin and yoga, you usually just say hello and go, very little conversation involved. But with running…who knows how long you’ll have to be awkwardly talking to someone? Not exactly my cup of tea.

Anyway, I almost wussed out…

BUT ALAS I DID NOT. I even have photographic evidence below.

ROGA!

AND the class was actually really fun! No one bit off my head, publicly shamed me or even talked about pace (remember when I said I could be irrational and dramatic?). The miles flew by since I was talking to new people  and it made it so much easier to start conversation since we all of us knew we had at least one thing in common…a love of running!

So today I learned something (albeit for the zillionth time)-Even if something scares you….just do it (within reason…I’m not telling you to try untethered cliff diving). I have found that when I just push myself…whether it be physically, socially, whatever-I usually surprise myself and have some fun along the way.

*I had actually been to Lululemon ROGA once  before, but I forced invited my boyfriend to come with me since he’s outgoing and gets along with just about anyone. He sort of acted as a social buffer for little ol’ me. He hates yoga, so suffice to say he has not returned since then. 

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
