Scrumptious Sonoma

1

August 22, 2011 by Danielle

This weekend I escaped the city and did something a little different…camping.

Although I’ve done some camping excursions in the past, the opportunity hasn’t really presented itself in a while, so when I was invited on a camping and tubing trip this weekend, I decided it was a great opportunity to escape cold San Francisco and get in some pseudo summer weather in Sonoma. The experience was fun and the highlight of the trip was lazy tubing down the Russian River, which I HIGHLY recommend. Sadly, I don’t have any pictures from that part of the trip  because a) my iPhone died at the very start of the trip and b) getting my camera wet was not on my list of things to do.

But I do have pictures from our trip to The Fremont Diner, which I had read about in Sunset Magazine. And as we all know…eating is my jam.

The vineyards of Sonoma.

The Fremont Diner is in Sonoma, California-right in the middle of wine country and has a very retro, down home feel and features lots of homestyle dishes-I had trouble picking just one thing from their menu.

I love their menu design!

The best thing is all of the ingredients come from the area, so everything is really fresh.

Dining al fresco

We started off the meal with a basket of biscuits. As a Southerner…I love biscuits, and I’m always on the search to find good ones on the West Coast. These ones definitely fit the bill. The homemade preserves were delicious.

Biscuits!

Next, our main courses came-I had the huevos rancheros, which were pretty good minus the sour cream…but oh well.

Fiesta on my plate.

The highlight of our group’s meal was my boyfriend’s choice…chicken and waffles.

Infamous chicken and waffles

I’ve heard about this phenomenon, but have never tried it, so I decided to take a bite…or two. I have to say the salty flavor of the chicken along with the sweetness of the waffle…pretty darn good.

Overall, it was great to get out of the city, do a little camping and get in some great eating. Here are a few more pictures from my Fremont Diner experience. If you’re ever in Sonoma be sure to stop by!

Lights.

Brunch Buddies. I think Marmaduke was confused at the sight of the chihuahua

One thought on “Scrumptious Sonoma

  1. […] My friend Christin treated us to an awesome tour of four wineries in Sonoma. […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
