Kashi Bars

4

August 23, 2011 by Danielle

So some Kashi walked into a bar….kidding.

Moving on.

As you might know, I LOVE KASHI.

I want to hug every single box of Kashi.

It is a permanent staple in my kitchen and I have it in some form at least once every day….sometimes multiple times per day. There’s something about it’s crunchy texture and slightly sweet flavor that makes me SOOOO happy. As you might also know, I LOVE GRANOLA. So, I combined these two loves of my life to create the ultimate snack…Kashi Granola bars.

Leaning tower of Kashi

Enjoy!

Kashi Granola Bars

1.5 c. Kashi Go Lean Crunch cereal

1 c. oats

1/4 c. flax seeds

1 c.  slivered almonds

1 tsp. vanilla

3/4 c. honey

1/2 c. crunchy all natural peanut butter

1/2 c. raisins (or other dried fruit)

1/2 c. chopped dried dates

1 tbsp. all natural maple syrup

1/2 tsp. salt

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees

2. On a 14 x 10 inch baking pan or regular baking sheet, combine oats, flax seeds and almonds and place in oven to toast until golden brown (about 15 minutes)

3. While the oats mixture is toasting, combine vanilla, peanut butter, maple syrup, honey and salt in small pot over medium heat. Word to the wise: When you’re measuring out the peanut butter and honey, spray the measuring cup with non stick spray first and the peanut butter and honey won’t stick to the measuring cup!

I'm just taste testing.

4. Stir peanut butter mixture over medium low heat until the ingredients are well combined and turn off heat.

5. Remove oats from oven and place in large mixing bowl. Stir in kashi, raisins and dates.

6. Pour honey mixture into bowl with oats and kashi mixture and stir until well combined.

Heaven in a bowl

7. Place parchment paper on baking pan and spread out mixture in pan. Press down with spoon (or hands!) until the mixture is evenly distributed.

Parchment paper really comes in handy when trying to get these bad boys out of the pan.

8. Bake at 325 degrees for about 30 minutes.

9. Remove from oven and let cool…COMPLETELY. I’m one of the most impatient people on this planet, so if I can wait, you can wait.

10. Remove granola from pan by using edges of parchment paper as handles to separate the paper from the pan.

11. Cut into squares and enjoy! Bars can be stored in an airtight container.

Oh yes! When I talk to you next, I’ll probably be en route to Charlotte NC! I’m super excited to be home for the first time since Christmas and I’m also ready for some summer weather (even if that means hurricane weather, which is what it’s looking like-Thanks, Irene.)

4 thoughts on “Kashi Bars

  1. Cat says:

    These look so yummy! I love Kashi too! – catvond81

  2. Yumm! I made something similar but with almond butter and oats instead of Kashi. These look great!

  3. […] MEGA SIZED box of Kashi Go Lean Crunch. How do they not have this in San […]

  4. […] that fact in mind, I hesitantly went to the pantry to check out the sugar content of my BELOVED Kashi… Sugar shocker. Womp […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
