Two Announcements (hint, giveaway!)

11

August 30, 2011 by Danielle

I’m back in action! And I have two fun announcements.

It’s time for my very first giveaway! Almondina contacted me to review their all natural biscotti, so of course I obliged since I drink an obscene amount of tea and biscotti is perfect for dipping. So before the giveaway deets, the review!

First off, I would call these cookies “biscotti wafers” as they’re not as thick as the traditional biscotti that I’m used to, but still good all the same. Now that that little clarification is out of the way, Almondina cookies are 100% natural and contain almonds, wheat flour, malted barley flour, sugar and vanilla and depending on your flavor of choice, can also include cherries, sesame seeds or cocoa powder. They’re also free of cholesterol, coloring and preservatives, made with no added fat or salt and if you’re into counting calories, there are only 30 calories per piece.

Almondina literally sent me enough biscotti to last a lifetime. The shipment contained seven flavors-Original, Brantreat, Chocolate Cherry, Sesame, Cinnaroma, Gingerspice and Choconut.

A pinwheel of delights.

After some extensive taste-testing, I came up with a few favorites.

I had to taste extensively.

I was surprised to find that the Gingerspice was my favorite flavor. For the record, I usually hate ginger flavored foods (especially in it’s raw form, ginger just makes me gag), but I really liked the subtle spiciness of this wafer. It reminded me of toned down gingerbread.

The next group of flavors was a virtual three way tie. Choconut and Chocolate Cherry had a very rich chocolate flavor, but I liked the Choconut more since it wasn’t as sweet as the Chocolate Cherry. The richness was nice though because it means that you can have a few wafers and be completely satisfied.

Rounding out the trio was Brantreat, which I could see myself eating for breakfast, which was fitting because …

Cookies for breakfast? Okay, sure!

apparently you can have cookies for breakfast now. It wasn’t overly sweet and was pretty hearty, so I think crushed up brantreats would be great on top of greek yogurt (and perfectly acceptable for breakfast).

Cinnaroma and Original were both great too-not too sweet and super crunchy.

The only flavor I REALLY didn’t like was the sesame flavor, but that’s because in addition to ginger…I also don’t like sesame flavors. I will say though that the savory sesame flavor would be good with cheese (if I weren’t lactose intolerant I’d try it out for you!).

So in honor of these little Italian treats I’m announcing my first mini-giveaway (yay!). The winner will receive a 12 pack sampler case (aka biscotti for life..or at least a week) of Almondina biscotti and I’m also throwing in some of my favorite teas so you can dip away!

All you have to do is:

a) Visit http://www.facebook.com/Almondina.Brand and “like” or “friend” Almondina on Facebook.

AND

b) Leave a comment below or tweet me (@daniellewolfe) your favorite thing to eat, your favorite way to sweat or something that makes you smile (get it?!). I love hearing from you!

The contest ends on Friday, September 2 at 8am PT/12 pm ET and I’ll announce the winner later that day, so the winner can go into the Labor Day weekend with a smile on their face and dreams of biscotti in their head.

Next announcement-During the month of September, I’ll be participating in Food Network’s “Brown Bag Challenge”, which starts on Thursday September 1.

Brown Bag ChallengeWe’re teaming up with fellow food bloggers to host a Brown-Bag Challenge, a month-long initiative to eat consciously and save money by packing a lunch each weekday instead of eating out. Join us here and share what you’re eating on Facebook and Twitter with the hashtag #brownbag.

I’ll tell you a little bit more about it when Thursday rolls around, but I would love it if all of you could get involved too! When the challenge starts, I would love to hear everyone’s great ideas about “brown bagging” it-you might just have your comments featured on Food Network’s blog.

11 thoughts on “Two Announcements (hint, giveaway!)

  1. Tina says:

    I LOVE Almondina, they are seriously my favorite biscott ever and I had no idea they had all these flavors. Also, I’m Italian, so I think that should count for something. One thing that makes me smile is when I celebrate my friends 21st birthday’s and I know they are having a great time. I make sure to find out if they are having fun, but they almost always tell me because I’m so excited!

  2. Jenn Stuart says:

    Waking up to my four year old son saying “wake up mommy it’s a sunny day” always makes me smile…when the joy from that wears off- I grab my coffee and dunk some Almondina in it 🙂

  3. Jill Elmore says:

    Favorite thing to eat – anything healthy with no HFCS or bad fats ! I like the Sesame biscotti as well as ALL of them
    Sweat- maintaining my deceased elderly patents 75 year old heirloom flower garden in the 100 plus high humidity Florida weather.
    Smile- our first and only grandchild- Ethan who turned two last week !!! A baby boomers dream come true !

  4. Michelle says:

    I’m a HUGE Almondina fan! And for one of my favorite things to EAT, during the summer it has to be anything grilled…meat, fish, chicken, veggies, you name it….SOOOO good and flavorful!!

  5. Hello-
    Wow! Was I surprised to see that there are five flavors of Almondina! I used to be able to buy the “Original Flavor” at Trader Joe’s when I lived in the Chicago area. Now, I just look foward to Care Packages from friends in the Chicago area that might contain Almondina!
    I moved to Tulsa six years ago when I married my husband & I can not find Almondina in any Tulsa Stores.

    These days I really enjoy Almondina with a cup of coffee or even water on days when I I do not have much of an appetite. (I have been diagnosed with Pancreatic Cancer & some days, I just don’t feel like eating. I’ve lost 70 pounds since the first of the year & beleive me, this is not a fun way to do it.) But the thin biscotti have a nice light flavor & I enjoy them, when I can get them.

  6. alison s says:

    All those flavours sound good except sesame, which does not belong in a cookie. Sesame you’re healthy get out of my cookies!

    One thing that makes me smile is looking at pictures of my dog. She’s so ridiculous and weird : )

  7. Solducky says:

    I liked on Facebook as sarah linette, and my favorite thing to eat is bread. I know, I know. But bread! Any and all kinds.

    soluckyducky at gmail dot com

  8. Kathy says:

    I have never tried it but would love to. The one thing that makes me smile is reading the blog NYC Style and a Little Cannoli.

  9. […] you don’t know about the contest yet, check out the details here! You could win a sampler pack of Almondina cookies and some of my favorite […]

  10. […] forget! The Almondina biscotti  giveaway is almost over, so enter here to win a motherlode of all natural biscotti plus some of my favorite teas so you have something to […]

  11. […] another note-I have an Almondina giveaway winner! Sarah L. you're the […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
