Stretching for Dummies

2

September 2, 2011 by Danielle

First of all, I want to thank everyone for all of the kind comments on yesterday’s post, they were much appreciated and made me laugh. To top it off, mid-way through the work day, I received this text from a friend-

If this isn't the seal of approval, I don't know what is.

Truthfully,I didn’t think it would be a popular post since it was kind of a downer, so I was happily surprised when I woke up to such supportive and responsive comments. Each day is full of new surprises!

Moving on-today I was perusing the art store by my office and I found a set of stretching cards that I impulse bought. But in my defense, I’m always looking for new stretches that I can do at my desk and after workouts, especially since I’m the number one offender when it comes to skipping stretching after workouts..

The series is called “The Stretch Deck” and it features 50 cards with a stretch on each card.

The great thing about the cards is that there is an illustration of the stretch on one side-

And  step by step instructions on how to do each stretch on the other, plus a tips and benefits section.

Even though I knew a fair amount of the stretches, there were a few I hadn’t tried before that were really effective. And there were also a few oddball ones-this was my favorite illustration. I definitely tried this at work.

Stretching out the gag reflex?

Aside from the entertaining illustrations, one of the other great things about the deck is that it comes with a guide that provides a set of stretches depending on activity. For example there are stretches for the desk worker, the runner and the gardener. I tried a few of the desk stretches during the day and last night after doing the 60-50-40-30-20-10 workout, I tried the runner series of stretches. The standing hamstring stretch was a doozy.

Anywho, in order to correct my stretching wrongs, I’m going to pick out a series of stretch cards each day and complete them when I wake up and after I work out. I’ll let you know how limber I get!

Do you ever skip stretching? If not, how do you keep up with it? It’s usually the last thing I want to do after a workout even though I know it’s good for me!

Don’t forget! The Almondina biscotti  giveaway is almost over, so enter here to win a motherlode of all natural biscotti plus some of my favorite teas so you have something to dip your biscotti in.

2 thoughts on “Stretching for Dummies

  1. Thanks for the link! That workout is one of my favs!

    I definitely skip stretching, but I always regret it! If I don’t stretch/foam roll after runs my knees really start acting up!

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
