The F-Word

5

September 13, 2011 by Danielle

As you might know,  I have been training for a marathon for the past few months. I’ve hit some great mile markers (pun intended) along the way and also had my a few hiccups along the way.

Amidst these running milestones, following my marathon training (almost) religiously for the past three months and telling people “Oh yeah, I’m running the Long Beach Marathon on October 9th” when asked what I’m training for, I failed to mention one teeny, weeny detail that kept me up at night.

No, really, it kept me up at night (source)

I wasn’t registered.

After reading that, you might be asking “But Dani, you’ve logged all of those miles and put in the work. That’s the hardest part! Why have you waited so long to register for this race?”

Although I’m sure I could come up with a myriad of explanations for why I waited so long to register, I’ll stick to the F-word (no…not that F word-get your mind out of the gutter!).

FEAR

Noun: An unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat.

In my mind, running a marathon checked off every box on the fear list.

Training for a marathon for months and not being able to finish on race day? Unpleasant emotion, check!

I’ve done a tri, but running 26.2 miles? Likely to cause pain, check!

My mind getting in the way of doing well on race day? Threat, check!

I could go on and on about my fears of running a marathon, but that would take up way too much for your time. Bottom line was fear was preventing me from biting the bullet and registering.

After thinking about it for a few days, weeks, months I finally silenced that inner self doubt and realized that my biggest failure would be not trying at all. The more I thought about it, the more I thought “What’s the heck is the point of putting in the hard work with no end product to speak of?!”

And so tonight, this happened-

Done and done.

I registered!

Do you have a fear of committing when it comes to races?

Do you ever regret not biting the bullet and just doing it? When it comes to races or other aspects of life? Would love to hear your thoughts!

5 thoughts on “The F-Word

  1. […] do some strength training, since I’ve been slacking a bit in that department since I started training for my marathon. We recently revived our cable  after four very sad months of life without BravoTV, so I decided […]

  2. […] So last week I was supposed to run 20 miles…didn’t happen. […]

  3. […] I had to commit to signing up for the Long Beach Marathon and then I thought I had broken my foot from […]

  4. […] couldn’t tell from my increasingly crazy/obsessive posts, I’m a little nervous about my race on Sunday. I’d say its 20% tapering hyperactivity (more on that later today), 130% nerves and fear of […]

  5. […] I’ve said before, I have an intense fear of failure (you can read about that here), probably due to the fact that with my Type A personality comes a high instance of risk aversion. […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
