Is Soy Milk Bad for You?

3

September 16, 2011 by Danielle

Happy Friday!

Before I get to the serious stuff I have an exciting announcement! I’m starting a fun series on Monday so tune it! I’m really excited about it and I hope you will be too! You’ll have to come back to find out what it is though…sneaky sneaky.

Anyway, yesterday one of my friends commented on a post in which I briefly mentioned that I didn’t drink soy milk anymore. Which, for someone who has known me for a while, is shocking because I used to consume soy milk like it was going out of style. I started drinking soy milk mostly because I’m lactose intolerant. But now I don’t drink soy milk at all…and this is why.

Disclaimer: This is my opinion, so if you love soy milk, keep on loving it!

It all started when my best friend, a 3rd year med student mentioned that soy wasn’t great because it increased estrogen levels in the body. I don’t want to get too science-y here and you always have to take scientific studies with a grain of salt, but some studies have shown that large amounts of soy can disrupt hormone levels, reducing female fertility and disrupting fetal development. Not that I’m on the baby train, but I’d like everything to work properly…just in case.

Then I was listening to The Jillian Michaels Show and she did a great show on different types of “milks”. She broke down the pros and cons of rice, coconut, regular and soy milk. Although each milk had its plusses and minuses, the bottom line is that Jillian is very anti-soy due to the possible detrimental health effects and because Americans are consuming more soy than they are aware of due to the fact that it is subsidized by the government. Not that Jillian is the end all be all of nutrition knowledge, but I do often take her opinions into account. Plus she was honest enough to disclose that she is a So Delicious coconut milk spokesperson (but she loves it regardless!)

Then as if to pound it into my head, Women’s Health did a piece that was all about milk alternatives in their September issue (see below!). Once again, under the con section for soy was “some studies suggest that over consuming soy promotes breast cancer-a good guideline is 20-25 grams per day.”

WOMP, WOMP.

So that basically ended my love affair with soy milk and now I’m a purely almond milk girl. I actually like it more than soy milk taste wise. But even almond milk has its downside-since the milk is made from ground almonds, it is mostly stripped of its good for you nutrients during the production process. That’s why I choose a calcium fortified version.

Click on my ghetto photo below to get the 411 on milk alternatives-but regardless of which milk you choose, know that there are pros and cons to each!

Do you drink soy milk? What are your thoughts on the soy milk controversy? 

If you don’t drink cow milk, what do you drink instead?


3 thoughts on “Is Soy Milk Bad for You?

  1. Dad says:

    Don’t forget to tell your sister

    Nice post. My friend Neal recently mentioned this to me

  2. K Shiz says:

    LIKE LIKE LIKE!

  3. […] than what I’m used to protein bars, but protein bars all the same. Even though you know how I feel about soy, the soy in these bars is non-GMO (gentically modified) and organic, as Clif Bar (the company that […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
