It’s In the (Plastic) Bag

2

October 5, 2011 by Danielle

This’ll be quick since I’m running around getting everything ready for the drive down to LA after work tomorrow. Okay I’ll tell the truth…I’m mostly watching Tia & Tamera on Style Network…but I’m packing too!

In order to avoid any disasters, I have packed some of my must have foods. Although my outfit and running shoes are important, if I don’t have my fuel staples, I’m not going to be a happy camper. And let’s be honest, there’s nothing classier than Ziploc bags full of food.

Bag o' Seeds. (It's in a Ziploc too)

Bag o' fuel.

So what’s in the bag(s)?

  • Homemade trail mix (almonds, cashews, walnuts, Kashi, dark chocolate and raisins)-We have a long car ride ahead. Enough said.
  • Nuun tablets-Zero sugar, low calorie electrolyte tablets. These have been a favorite since I tried them out during my first triathlon three years ago. I love the way they taste and they make your water fizz like Alka-Seltzer, which is always entertaining. 🙂
  • Flax and Chia Seeds, Vanilla Whey Protein Powder, Stevia packets and Xanthan Gum-I ALWAYS crave smoothies after long runs, so I don’t expect Sunday to be any different. I want to be prepared for any smoothie emergencies.
  • GU and Chomps-My favorite way to boost my energy during long runs. I think I over did it by packing ALL of the flavors in my GU drawer…but better safe than sorry right?

So there you have it! Now off to pick out my race outfit and get everything else together before I leave!

Do you have any pre-race staples?

P.S. I’m about to watch American Horror Story on FX…I think this is a bad pre-bedtime idea.

2 thoughts on “It’s In the (Plastic) Bag

  1. Kristine says:

    Woo hoo! Good luck! Can’t wait to hear about it! I always have a cup of black coffee, toasted sandwich thin with PB, a sliced banana, cinnamon and a drizzle of honey an hour or so before my long runs… and then Gu every 5 miles or so!

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
