From Scratch

1

October 19, 2011 by Danielle

Yesterday at about 2pm I got an INTENSE pizza craving. It was probably related to the fact that I was reading a copious amount of food magazines at work. Don’t worry, I wasn’t slacking off on the job-I work at a public relations agency so one of the perks is that we have a “library” with just about every magazine imaginable.

Anyway, while I was flipping through Whole Living Magazine, I found a recipe for whole wheat pizza dough and sauce. I immediately decided that I was in for the challenge. I also like making pizza at home because I know exactly what’s going into my dinner.

First off…the dough.This recipe for whole wheat dough is extra special because in addition to the benefits of using whole wheat, it incorporates ground flax seeds, which are rich in omega 3 fatty acids (think good for bone health and blood pressure control). You really can make your pizza and eat it too!

Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

Ingredients

  • 1 envelope dry active yeast
  • 2 cups warm water
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting surface
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup ground flax seeds (the original recipe calls for wheat germ…but I couldn’t find it at my nearest grocery store)
  • Extra-virgin olive oil, for bowl
  1. Dissolve yeast in water in a large bowl and let stand, 5 minutes. Stir in 2 cups all-purpose flour and salt. Stir in whole-wheat flour and ground flax seeds, then remaining all-purpose flour, 1 tablespoon at a time, until dough comes away from bowl but is still sticky.
  2. Turn out onto a lightly floured work surface, and knead, until it’s smooth and elastic and springs back slowly when poked, about 10 minutes.
  3. Place in a lightly oiled bowl, turn to coat. Cover, and let rise in a warm place until it doubles in volume, about 2 1/2 hours.
  4. Cut dough into six portions. Roll into balls, cover, and let rest 30 minutes before stretching for pizza.
While the dough did this–

The dough overfloweth.

I worked on the sauce. The original recipe is here, but I adapted it a little bit with the ingredients I had on hand.

In a food processor I combined:

  • 1 whole onion
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 2.5 cups diced canned tomatoes
  • 6 cloves of garlic (I like it garlicky!)
  • 1.5 cups baby carrots

Fresh 'n delicious

Then I cooked down for about an hour and add salt and pepper to taste. After that, I reprocessed the mixture and added fresh basil and oregano.

Saucy.

When the dough was finally ready, I took off enough dough to make a pizza for manfriend and me.

TIP: Freeze remaining sauce and dough in separate plastic bags for the next time you want to make pizza.

After stretching out the dough and putting sauce on top, it was time for the fun. Add any toppings that you want! For this one, I added mozzarella cheese (for him), almond cheese (for me), chicken sausage, sauteed onions, yellow pepper and spinach (phew!).

I had trouble keeping my hands off of this before it went in the oven.

Then I cooked that bad boy at 500 F for 10-12 minutes (it’s ready when the crust is crispy) and….

MMMM.

TA-DA. Pizza!
It was delicious. Most of it will not survive to see another day.
One thought on “From Scratch

  1. Nice! I never make the sauce from scratch but now I want to try it. Looks great!

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
