Go Break Yourself!

1

October 25, 2011 by Danielle

Why hello! It’s nice to be back. If you didn’t notice, I didn’t blog on Thursday or Friday of last week. I had to have a few health issues taken care of and took a day off of work to do some heavy duty recovery. I’m a-okay now and and just resting up.

Moving on..After taking a few days off of running after the Long Beach Marathon–mostly due to the fact that I couldn’t move–I decided it would be a great idea to go out for a run…as if I hadn’t gotten my fill earlier that week.

Crinkly knee. No likey.

Suffice to say running that soon after a race was NO BUENO. I limped my way home with a funked up knee and finally decided to listen to my body (DUH) and  take time for some rest.

After a running hiatus of almost a week and a half, I was able to sneak in a short run and felt much better (DUH, part deux), which got me thinking about marathon training. No, I’m not ready to train for a marathon any time soon. To clarify, it got me thinking about POST marathon training.

I was BEST friends with my marathon training plan for four long months. There were good days and bad days, but each day I had a plan. Then after the race is over, it’s like going through a break-up. You’re left to go it alone, dreaming of the good ol’ days when you knew exactly what to expect.

My ex. It was SO good while it lasted.

Okay, it wasn’t not that dramatic…but I wish someone had told me about the importance of having a post marathon training plan. I did a little research and found this great post marathon training plan from Hal Higdon, a veritable god in the marathon training world. Higdon recommends a “zero week” and a “reverse taper” and lots of carbs for recovery…oh if only I’d known!

The non-plan plan.

Oh well, I’ll keep this in mind next time I train for one of these little suckers ;). The plan also offers novice and advanced post marathon training plans along with a detailed day by day “zero week” plan,  so be sure to check it out!

Also, while I’m on the subject of Hal Higdon, head on over to my blogger friend Kristine’s site, Running On Hungry, and say “Hi!”. She’s training for a marathon using the Hal Higdon plan, so she’s probably well aware of her post awesomeness plan.

P.S. I promise I’ll start blogging about something other than the marathon at some point soon 🙂 With a slammed work schedule and lots of rest from my whacked out body…there’s just not a lot of excitement going on at the moment. Trust me…my office cube’s not that exciting.

One thought on “Go Break Yourself!

  1. Kristine says:

    Why thank you for the shoutout! 🙂 I actually haven’t given any thought to my post-plans so this post was extremely helpful! I do know that I’ll be overjoyed to not give up 3 hours of my Saturday mornings to run this winter though!

    Are you running the Kaiser Half in Feb? Dooooo it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
