Highs and Lows

1

October 27, 2011 by Danielle

Yesterday was a day full of food highs…and lows. Like really low lows…

Let’s start out with the high, shall we?

So I’ve been reading about SIABs (Salad in a Bag) on fellow blogger Kathryn’s website, Flopoodle. Although I thought that was a great idea, I wasn’t compelled to try it…UNTIL YESTERDAY. Let me tell you people, don’t wait to try the SIAB.

Salad perfection from a bag

The SIAB hits every element on my workday lunch check list (yes I do have one of those…).

  • Easy-just throw your salad ingredients in a bag and when you’re ready add dressing, shake and enjoy.
  • Portable-HELLO. It’s in a plastic bag. Can’t get more portable than that.
  • Clean up…it’s already in the bag. BAM.
  • Good for you

Another great thing about the SIAB is that the dressing and toppings are evenly distributed.  I quite frankly hate tossing salads because all of the ingredients end up at the bottom and the dressing is NEVER well distributed. Well not with the SIAB my friends…not with the SIAB.

So if you haven’t tried it yet, try it out! You won’t be disappointed.

And now for the lows.

When I arrived home after an extra long day at work and a history lecture given by my cousin, I was prepared to enjoy leftover spaghetti squash and turkey meatballs.

EXCEPT THERE WAS NO PASTA SAUCE. If you know me, you know I love pasta sauce. To a fault.

No pasta sauce. No tomatoes. No bueno.

I tried everything in an effort to create a pasta topper from what little I had in my pantry-pumpkin puree and greek yogurt…Never try this at home folks, it’s gross.

After accidentally dumping too much salt and chili pepper on my poor spaghetti squash, I decided to create a mezze plate of sorts…

Randomness.

Or should I garbage plate, because it was just a random combination of mushrooms, crackers, hummus and organic turkey jerky.

Suffice to say, I didn’t make it that far before giving up.

Here's the low point I was talking about.

With no food in the house I turned to an old favorite…Kashi (I swear I’m not a spokesperson). I mixed a little bit of a new favorite, Kashi Go Lean Crisp (delicious by the way!) with an old favorite Kashi Go Lean Crunch added banana and PB and called it a day.

A good ol' standby

Lesson of the day-SIABs are good…being unprepared for meals…not so much. Happy Thursday!

One thought on “Highs and Lows

  1. Haha love the lunch checklist! Mine is 1) what can i see the second i open the fridge. that’s it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
