Ready to Refocus

2

October 28, 2011 by Danielle

Before I started my current job, I worked at Sports Basement, a Bay Area sporting institution. It’s basically a gigantic warehouse of sporting goods (everything from running to yoga to mountaineering) at a discount. It’s heaven for anyone who likes to sweat and who doesn’t love a good deal? You MUST visit if you come to the Bay Area.

Before that I worked at a start-up that allowed me to fit in a workout whenever I wanted during the day.

Now that I have a client oriented position, my day looks like this–

Excel (unfortunately) does not count as a workout.

with no time for midday workouts 😦

Yesterday I hit a wall at about 4 PM and putzed around on an assignment for a bit. At 5:30, my productivity ground to a halt and I finally came to terms with the fact that I wasn’t going to get anything else done so I headed over to my gym for a “refocus run”.

Since I’m just getting back on the running wagon after my race and taking some time off, I decided I was ready for the treadmill again. I am one of those odd people who is okay with running on the treadmill and I’m even more okay with it because of the view from the gym treadmill…

It's like running outside...INSIDE.

Moving on. Since I had a limited amount of time before my inevitable return to my desk I decided to be efficient by mixing cardido and strength, so I grabbed a 1o lb. medicine ball, put it by my treadmill and did this workout-

Warm-up 5 minutes
Wood Chops 15 each side
Run 6.7 mph for 1 min., 7 mph for 3 min. 7.3 mph for 1 min
Lunge w/ oblique twist 15 each leg
Run 6.7 mph for 1 min., 7 mph for 3 min. 7.3 mph for 1 min
Squat 1 minute
Run 6.7 mph for 1 min., 7 mph for 3 min. 7.3 mph for 1 min
Medicine Ball pushup 10 each side
Run 6.7 mph for 1 min., 7 mph for 3 min. 7.3 mph for 1 min
Wood Chops 15 each side
Run 6.7 mph for 1 min., 7 mph for 3 min. 7.3 mph for 1 min
Squat 1 minute
Run* 6.7 mph for 1 min., 7 mph for 3 min. 7.3 mph for 1 min
Side Lungewith a medicine ball raise 15 each side, side lunge, come back to middle and press medicine ball above head, repeat to other side.
Run 6.7 mph for 1 min., 7 mph for 3 min. 7.3 mph for 1 min
Medicine Ball Pushup 10 each side

I threw in 30 back extensions and was done in just about an hour. I love combo workouts because it was just enough of a workout to get me sweaty and refocus me for heading back to my desk. After getting my sweat on I was able to focus and finish up the work I had to do. YAY!

If you try it out, let me know what you think! Have a safe and happy Halloween everyone!

Do you ever take breaks during the day to fit in a workout? If not, when do you fit in a sweat session?

P.S. I believe these are holiday lights (which is not okay in my book since it’s not even Halloween yet and it’s still about 65 at night) but there’s just something about white lights on trees that I love. This was from my walk home–too magical not to share.

So pretty.

2 thoughts on “Ready to Refocus

  1. Kristine says:

    I love love love when the city starts to light up for the holidays! I think the Embarcadero Center lighting and ICE RINK (!!!) is just a couple weeks away!

    I’ll go to the gym at lunch to get my run out of the way if I know I have plans after work and won’t be able to fit it in in time. (I also refuse to wake up early to do this!)

    • Danielle says:

      Lucky! I wish I could go to the gym during lunch…maybe some day I’ll sneak out 🙂

      As for the ice rink-yes! I saw them building it last week…when it was 80 degrees out.

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
