Getting EPOC!

2

December 22, 2011 by Danielle

No that’s not a typo…But it is epic. It’ll all become clear by the end of this post.

It is unseasonably warm in my hometown of Charlotte…SEVENTY ONE degrees of unseasonable warmth. So much for all of the sweaters I brought.

Anyway, I was really excited about the prospect of running outside … in a tank top…in December.

Until it started to do this–

Rain... Lame!

Now for those of you who don’t know me, I am a HUGE wuss when it comes to inclement weather. I HATE the cold (unless a ski lift is involved) and I only like watching rain from indoors, not being in it. So there went my romantic ideas of running outside.

Luckily, my little sister was nice enough to drive me to the gym-but too embarassed to come in with me. Oh well.

Since I hadn’t planned on doing an indoor workout, I made one up as I went along. Fortunately for you I typed it out on my iPhone as I was going along.

Typing while treadmilling...dangerous combination.

Unfortunately it is all written in Dani code. But I’m willing to decipher it for you.

It’s a combo of HIIT (high intensity interval training) and circuit work. Circuit workouts and HIIT are two of my favorite ways to work out because…

1) It’s efficient- I was in an out of the gym in under and hour. Just enough time to get back to a RHOBH/RHOA marathon.

2) It’s effective-I can’t really feel my arms right now and I’m really sweaty (yes I sit in sweaty clothes). HIIT and Circuit training also increase your EPOC, better known as excess post exercise consumption. Without getting too complicated, it basically means that you keep burning and churning the calories even after you’re done working out. Can you tell I’ve been studying?

HIIT

5 minute warm up
2 minutes at 9 mph
1 minute rest at 6 mph
1 minute at 9.5
1 minute rest at 6 mph
2 minutes at 9 mph
1 minute rest at 5.5 mph
1 minute at 9.5 mph
1 minute rest 5.5 mph
2 minutes 9 mph
1 minute rest at 5.5
1 all out (30 sec. at 10 mph, 30 seconds at 10.3 mph)
5 minute cool down

Strength Circuit
Repeat each exercise for one minute unless otherwise indicated. Repeat each circuit twice before moving on to the next circuit. NO REST in between circuits!

Circuit 1
Dumbbell Squat press
Renegade rows
Lateral Arm raise in Chair Pose

Circuit 2
Reverse Lunge (hold dumbbells in each hand)
Medicine Ball One Arm Push up-10 push ups each arm
W Shoulder Press with Extension

Circuit 3
Plié squat to bicep curl
Yoga push up (better known as tricep push up, but  yoga sounds more elegant)-10
Plank on hands

2 thoughts on “Getting EPOC!

  1. […] this blog or at just about any health/wellness blog on the internet, you’ve probably heard of HIIT or High Intensity Interval Training. HIIT consists of repeated short bursts of cardiovascular […]

  2. […] of this blog or just about any health/wellness blog on the internet, you’ve probably heard of HIIT or High Intensity Interval Training. HIIT consists of repeated bursts of cardiovascular exercise at […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
