Fitness Together

4

December 27, 2011 by Danielle

As a former college rower, I have tried to avoid the erg at all costs-we spent more than enough time together in college.

That ended this morning, when my mom took me to her small training group at Fitness Together. The cool thing about small group or “PACK” as the call it, is that each group is limited to four people or less-so it’s like personal training–but with competition and of course individual attention from the trainer.

Today it was just my mom and me, so our trainer Donny proceded to put us through a fun tag-team circuit that incorporated lots erging which reminded me of my good ol’ rowing days…and made my hands look like this-

I see a blister forming!

Warm-Up

5 pull ups (I got to use the body band for the first time-SO COOL!)

10 push ups

15 sit ups

Repeat 3 times

Main Circuit

While one person is erging, the other does the full body circuit. Then you switch and repeat three times.

Person 1

5 mintes erging-complete as many meters as possible in the allotted time. This reminded me of an erg test…and if you’re wondering I’m not in that video 🙂

.

Person 2 (do each exercise for 1 minute)

Battle Ropes (I have never tried these before-I’ve only seen them on Biggest Loser. I felt like a complete badass)

We pretty much resembled this man while doing the battle ropes.

Squats (as fast as possible)

Kettle bell swings

Jump Rope

Mountain Climbers

I LOVED this workout (especially the battle ropes) and even though it was challenging we made it out looking like this at the end-

The family that sweats together stays together.

Hope you’re having a great day!

4 thoughts on “Fitness Together

  1. Jess says:

    Haha Dani, Christina has been trying to get me to erg with her and I finally caved to the machine last week. My hand is gross with blisters after just that one sess!

    • Danielle says:

      It’s really sad when you erg once and your hands blister within the first 5 days-I can’t believe you withstood the Mannion pressure for so long!

      • Chrissy says:

        Jess! How could you! Now that I know you’ve been erging, it’s 2K time!!

        Dani, I cannot believe you got this video. I watched the entire thing. It was almost as terrifying as actually being there.

  2. […] plums dancing through my head,* I was less than pleased to return to work yesterday. Although I worked out over the holiday, it’s one thing to get your sweat on in anticipation of more Law and Order: SVU and House […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
