Yoga Hike and A Girl’s Night

1

January 18, 2012 by Danielle

I wanted to call it “Yiking” but apparently that’s not how it works.

But before I get to the yoga hiking, let me tell you how it all started.

My good friends Maddie and Liz invited a bunch of girls over for a Friday night girls night.

I was so excited it even got a special sticker and space in my planner. When you get your own sticker, you’re big time in my book.

Anyway, the night was filled with girl talk, a bit too much champagne and good food.

Maddie and Liz illustrate the perfect combination for a great girls' night...raw meat and champagne?

The next day, Maddie, Liz and I set out on part two of girl’s night, which consisted of a yoga hike. Upon agreeing to attend girls night, my friends had also  coerced gently suggested that I join them on the yoga hike they had signed up for. Now, don’t get me wrong-I like yoga…and I like hiking from time to time, but combining them both? I envisioned hippie drum circles in the middle of the woods.

I decided to take a leap of faith and try out something new. Living on the edge, I know.

The hike took place in Wunderlich Park and was lead by Emily, a leader from Hiking Yoga. The hike covered 2.92 miles (if you want a map of our hike, check it out here!) and featured some beautiful views.

Pretty nice place to do a downward dog.

For me, the coolest thing was looking up to the sky instead of a studio ceiling–

Saying hi to the sky-Can you find us?

Even though I was a little dismayed that there were no hippie drum circles, (kidding) there were a lot of Warrior I’s and Vinyasas. It was great to work up a sweat hiking and then get my yoga on in a completely different setting.

If you want more info on Yoga Hiking, check out their site-they lead hikes all over the country!

One thought on “Yoga Hike and A Girl’s Night

  1. […] had fun hanging out with my friends Maddie and Liz for a ladies’ night. This was us in college. Still crazy after all these […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
