Pomegranate Party

3

January 20, 2012 by Danielle

Did you know-Pomegranates are loaded with antioxidants, vitamins, potassium, folic acid and iron.

Despite all of these great benefits…I’ve never eaten a pomegranate.

I’ve had pomegranate juice (in my cocktails) but I’ve always been afraid of staining the heck out of my clothes. That stuff doesn’t come out and there’s no turning back after that.

So this morning I decided to tackle the little beast that had been lurking in my refrigerator and wanted to share the experience with you, so you too can overcome your pomegranate fears. Or not.

What you’ll need-

I start every morning with a pomegranate, a knife and a bowl of water. Don't you?

Next, score the pomegranate into slices. You don’t need to slice all the way through it, just about 1/2 an inch in.

I scored this morning. Ha.

Next comes the fun! Dunk the pomegranate under the water. I repeat make sure it’s under the water or else you’ll end up spraying pomegranate juice everywhere…and your clothes/furniture/cat do not want that.

Under the water!

Rip the pomegranate apart and separate the seeds from the rind. This is the fun part, so get into it!

The great pomegranate massacre of 2012.

The rind and the inner parts will float to the top-how convenient-and the seeds will sink to the bottom. Skim the rinds and inner parts from the top. Rinse the seeds and ta-da!

Pretty Pomegranate Seeds

If you want to know even more about pomegranates, check out this story from my favorite…National Public Radio!

3 thoughts on “Pomegranate Party

  1. Chrissy says:

    Woah! I have always wanted to know how to do that!

  2. Patrick says:

    Hmm I don’t recall ever seeing an invite to this pomegranate party – maybe it got lost in the mail

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
