Oats ‘n Fluff

Leave a comment

January 27, 2012 by Danielle

Alert! This post is a little all over the place, but it ends in pure deliciousness…so keep reading!

What do Mrs. Doubtfire and oatmeal have in common?

Oatmeal and Mrs. Doubtfire, two things that will never get old. (source) (source)

I will NEVER get tired of them. Yes, I have impeccable taste in both food and movies.

Last night, I wasn’t feeling too well and I wanted some comfort food while watching Mrs. Doubtfire for the thousandth time.* Oatmeal sounded like a good idea, but since these were fancy dinner oats, I wanted to jazz them up a bit.

Earlier this week, I had read about Tina’s “Oatless Oatmeal” which actually substitutes egg whites for oats. It sounded delicious, but I didn’t want to sacrifice my oats. I decided to take a walk on the wild side and add some egg whites to my oats and see what happened.

Oatmeal with egg whites pretty much inspire the same feelings.

PURE MAGIC is what happened. I was so blown away by their amazingness, I didn’t have time to take a picture of my oats before they magically disappeared.

GET IN MY BELLAYYYY.

But luckily someone was more patient than I.

An oatmeal re-enactment (source)

The oats turned out fluffy, light and delicious. Best of all the egg whites add additional protein to the oats, which already have 5 grams of protein per half cup, which is great since I’m trying to increase my protein intake. You can’t go wrong with that!

So here’s my quick recipe for the fluffiest oatmeal you’ll ever ingest. Or just the eggiest. This recipe is easily customized, so feel free to forgo the peanut butter and raisins for nuts, cranberries or bananas. It’s totally up to you!

Oats n’ Fluff

Serves 1

1/2 cup rolled oats

2 tbsp all natural peanut butter

water

1/4 cup unsweeted almond milk

2 egg whites

1 tbsp. raisins

dash of brown sugar

1. Place oats in a small pot and  add water until oats are just covered (about a 1/2 cup), then add almond milk.

2. In a separate bowl, whisk egg whites.

3. Heat oats over medium heat, constantly stirring. While still stirring, add in peanut butter, raisins and brown sugar and mix until well incorporated.

4.  Add egg whites and keep on stirrin! When the liquid has cooked off and the oats have thickened, they’re ready to serve!

5. Enjoy!

*I am not kidding. Members of my family (Mom, I’m looking at you) cannot go more than a few weeks without watching this movie. It has only been made worse now that I live in San Francisco and run past the Mrs. Doubtfire house on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
