Portions in Control

3

January 31, 2012 by Danielle

Like anyone else, I’ve done my fair share of overdoing it with food, so here are a few of my favorite tips that I hope will help limit the number of times you find yourself rolling around on the ground moaning “I can’t believe I ate the whole thing”.

Don't over do it. You don't want to end up like me.

Not like that’s happened to me or anything.

1. Give Yourself a Hand

”]Fellow blogger Marisol sent me this great chart that uses your hand as a guide for portion. Some professionals recommend comparing food servings to different items (i.e. tennis balls and golf balls) to gauge portion control, but how often do you have a tennis ball on hand? Your hands are always on hand (ha), so this is a great way to get an idea of how much you’re eating. I tried this method and the cereal I measured came out to exactly one cup-try it!

2. Plan Ahead

I have a favorite saying that you’ve probably seen before on the blog-“If you fail to plan, you plan to fail. It sounds fatalistic, I know, but if you plan out and measure your meals ahead, you don’t have to worry about guesstimating portions or how much you’re eating. Tip: Measure out and assemble ingredients for breakfast and lunch the night before and you’re already set for two-thirds of your meals for the next day!

3. Make measurement easy.

I’m a sucker for daily deals, but I saw these on DailyCandy and KNEW I had to have them.

Portionware! (source)

Portionware! (source)

Portionware are plastic tupperware containers that are marked with easy to read symbols that make it easy to tell how much food you’re putting in each container. Having these marked containers on hand makes it easy to throw together lunches and snacks when I’m short on time-I use these every day!

4. Trick Yourself

I know it sounds  little crazy, but try using a smaller plate or cup for meals and snacks. Scientific studies have shown that people may eat up to 30% more when offered food on a larger plate.

5. Bag the bag (or can…or trough..)

At the age of 15 I was only partially aware of my lactose intolerance. In it to win it.

At age 14, I was not aware of "do not eat directly from the receptacle" tip.

When you eat food directly out of the bag, you have no idea how much you’re eating. I’m not saying you won’t catch me eating cereal from the box or eating peanut butter directly from the jar, but more often than not, try to measure out your serving and back away slowly.

So there you have it-that wasn’t so painful was it? Five tips to help you on your way to panic free portion control.

Have a great Tuesday!

Do you have any quick portion control tips? I’d love to know-please share below!

3 thoughts on “Portions in Control

  1. KOLBEEEEE says:

    Haha this was probably my favorite blog post ever. The pictures are AWESOME..and the hand chart thing is pretty handy!

  2. Cristina! says:

    I 110% agree with KOLBEEEE

  3. […] So there you have it! Don’t worry, I don’t measure out everything I eat-that would drive both me and those around me crazy-but sometimes I do like to have an idea of what a serving is especially when it comes to desserts and items that I normally eat right out of the bag. If you’re on the go and want to get a good idea of how to pretty accurately gauge a serving, check out this post! […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
