A Giant Sunday

9

February 6, 2012 by Danielle

First off, go Giants!

Can't spell "ELITE" with out Eli (Manning).

My friend Maddie and I got a little crafty before the game in support of the new Super Bowl champions. Even though my official team of choice is the Carolina Panthers, I’m a Jersey girl, so it’s always good when the Giants (or the Jets!) go all the way.

Anyway, I started off Super Bowl Sunday a bit differently than usual-first of all it started at 6:30 a.m. with a less than stellar breakfast which is an anomaly in itself because in my book weekends are for brunch and sleeping.

Race mornings are too fast for plates..or napkins?

Why was I up so early you might ask? Well, last Thursday I made a last minute decision to participate in the Kaiser Permanente half marathon which made me a bit nervous since I haven’t run more than 6 miles since October, but when race day morning arrived, the nervousness quickly disappeared.  The starting line was filled with people who just wanted to have fun on an uncharacteristically warm San Francisco morning.

To the races!

Okay, the start was chilly, but it warmed up the moment I crossed the starting line, which was a bit packed-I’m pretty sure I added a good two tenths of a mile to my race due to weaving through the crowds. I even ran into Kristine within two minutes of starting!

The race looped in and out of Golden Gate Park and along the Great Highway, which is right on the Pacific Ocean. One of the best things about the course is that it is extremely flat, which is a rarity in San Francisco.

Flat and beautiful? I'll take it!

My loose race plan was to come in under two hours since this was my first half marathon, but as the masses broke up I decided to just have fun, rock out to my tunes* and run based on feel.

My playlist was much longer...but the playlist took top spot.

*Okay, tunes and a “Wait, Wait Don’t Tell Me” podcast. I’m a nerd.

Around mile 11, I passed a girl in a Tom Brady jersey (boo!) which compelled me to pick up the pace. Kidding. But I did pick up the pace when I heard the official time was around 1:26 and trucked it to the finish line, where I looked down at my watch and saw this!

I'll take it!

I was pretty excited to see those numbers, but more importantly I was shocked that the race was, well….fun! It was great to be with other runners who were just excited and happy to be out running on a beautiful day.

Needless to say that after a great (and healthy) start to Super Bowl Sunday, the remainder of the day was spent with friends, eating good food (anyone else suffer from a guacamole overdose?) and cheering the Giants to victory.

Hope everyone has a wonderful Monday!

9 thoughts on “A Giant Sunday

  1. Kristine says:

    Congrats on a great race!! 🙂 So fun bumping into you around mile .5! 🙂

  2. drinkrunyoga says:

    Seriously almost did this race! Congrats on your finish!

  3. […] So there you have it-15 days in and I’m feeling stronger and I’m pretty sure I’m a bit more toned. My biggest apprehension was that I would lose a fair amount of my cardiovascular fitness since the plan doesn’t include extensive cardio sessions in the traditional sense, but my fears were laid to rest last Sunday. […]

  4. worklivebe says:

    I *always* catch up on Wait Wait podcasts while on the treadmill at the gym…which inevitably makes me look like a crazy person laughing to myself.

    • Danielle says:

      Glad there are other people out there who love what I like to call “Wait Wait” workouts. It’s just SO funny and it makes me feel better informed about world events after I’m done listening and running. You can’t beat working out your brain and your body at the same time.

  5. Amanda says:

    Wow- Great time!! Especially being your first half!! I’ve been gradually improving my time and hope to break 2 hours for a half this year.

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
