Sweat and Snacks

16

March 9, 2012 by Danielle

I’ve been getting kind of bored with plain old running and weight training at the gym, so I’ve been trying to switch my workouts up a bit. Since I had the day off on Wednesday, I decided to try another new activity and get my sweat on at Pop Up Fitness, a free pop-up event sponsored by popchips, Club One and Les Mills.

Before I get to the actual event, I’m going to pause for a moment, because you’re probably asking yourself “Okay, I understand Les Mills and Club one sponsoring a fitness event, but what the heck does a potato chip have to do with fitness?”

I’ll tell you!

Well for one, popchips aren’t your ordinary potato chip. They’re not fried or baked, they’re popped, so they have half the fat of fried chips.

Moreover popchips are better for you option than other chips. popchips co-founder Keith Belling came up with the idea for popchips after he couldn’t find a tasty and better for you chip, so he decided to create one himself. From the start, popchips has always had healthier living in mind, so popchips teamed up with fitness aficionados in different cities to celebrate snacking and sweat.

Now onto the fun!

The event was held at the Embarcadero Center, an outdoor shopping center smack dab in the middle of downtown San Francisco

Just your average workout class outside of the Banana Republic.

and was led by Amanda and Matty, two HIGHLY energetic instructors from Les Mills.

Matty and Amanda rocking the pop up party.

Amanda led a great series of agility drills and cardio intervals that got me sweating despite the cold weather and we even had a chance to get  a bit competitive. Just kidding-she could out “fast feet” me any day.

Fast feet!

After agility, Matty did some great resistance training exercises that attracted lots of onlookers (I’m sure they just wanted to join in on the fun!) and proved that you don’t need a lot of fancy equipment to get in a good workout.

After everyone made it through the event alive, we gathered together for a fun group picture-

and I even got some one on one time with Amanda to discuss our favorite popchips flavors-she’s an original. They didn’t have salt and vinegar (my favorite!) at the event, so I decided to try a new to me flavor-jalepeno. Delish!

What’s evvven better is that I have a little something for you! popchips recently debuted their newest flavor-sweet potato-and they wanted me to give one lucky reader a big box full of good for you sweet potato lovin! I tore into a bag of sweet potato popchips on the way home from the event, and I have to say I love that they have a hint of buttery sweetness to them.

If you ever wanted a lifetime supply of sweet potato popchips, now's your chance!

 All you have to do to enter is:

1) Follow @popchipsSF  and leave a comment below letting me know that you did!

Extra Entry: Tweet about the giveaway saying “Sweat and snacks?! I’m in! I want to win @popchipsSF from @daniellewolfe!”

The competition will close next Wednesday, March 14th at 11:59 PST, which coincidentally happens to be National Potato Chip Day!

Happy snacking!

All opinions expressed are my own! And nope, I was not compensated! 

16 thoughts on “Sweat and Snacks

  1. KOLBEEEEE says:

    Followed and tweeted!!! I ❤ popchips (and I also like winning things).

  2. I followed @popchipssf! I was already following @popchips and I didn’t know there was a bay area specific feed! Yay!

  3. I also retweeted the giveaway! Hope I win! 🙂

  4. Lisa Vigna says:

    Following and Tweeting @Lavesq I love Pop Chips!!

  5. Deborah E. says:

    I followed @popchipsSF. I Love popchips!

  6. Laurel says:

    Done and done! This is such a fun blog, Dani!

  7. gkennington says:

    I followed on twitter! 🙂

  8. gkennington says:

    Tweeted the giveaway! 🙂

  9. K Shiz says:

    ENTERED. I even tweeted for you.

  10. […] you love popchips, don’t forget to enter my giveaway! It ends on Wednesday […]

  11. Tina Rath says:

    Follow @popchipsSF on Twitter @sewingmema

  12. […] to toasted waffle; top with salsa and a splash of hot sauce. Today’s the last day to enter my popchips giveaway, so get posting! Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  13. […] announce the winner of the popchips giveaway in a bit-Stay Tuned! Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
