A Taste of Summer

1

March 13, 2012 by Danielle

As if sun after seven and warm(ish) weather runs weren’t enough, yesterday I decided to make a recipe that just screamed summer.

When I saw the “One Recipe, Two Meals” recipes in Fitness Magazine’s February issue, I was so excited to try them out. I thought it was particularly interesting that most of the recipes consisted of a dinner recipe which was then transformed into a breakfast recipe-you usually don’t think of dinner being breakfast, but I’m always up for killing the proverbial two birds with one stone.

About a month later (e.g. yesterday) I finally got around to making part one of Pan-Seared Scallops with Citrus-Avocado Salsa.

Hands down the prettiest meal I've ever made.

And it was delicious and so refreshing! I could imagine eating this during the summer by the pool (sigh!) My boyfriend also loved it and kept eating the salsa with chips-it was kind of a seafood free ceviche (at least until I made him stop eating it so that I had enough salsa left over for part two of the recipe).

The recipe is VERY easy and took about 15 minutes to prepare the meal from start to finish-no excuses for not having enough time for a healthy and delicious dinner!

Pan-Seared Scallops with Citrus-Avocado Salsa

Serves 4

Ingredients

1 grapefruit (I squeezed the leftover juice into a cup to drink while I prepared the  meal..YUM!)

1 seedless tangerine & 2 tbsp. chopped cilantro (I got really distracted at Whole Foods, so I totally forgot these elements-but they would probably only make the recipe more delicious than it turned out to be)

2 tbsp. fresh squeezed lime (about 1 lime)

1/4 c. diced red onion

1 avocado

salt

pepper

1 tbsp. olive oil

1.5 pounds scallops (I used frozen, but fresh are definitely best)

Directions

1. Using a paring knife, remove the peel and pith from the tangerine and grapefruit. Working over a large bowl, carefully cut between the membranes to release the segments and any juices. Add the avocado, red onion, cilantro, lime zest, and lime juice to bowl; gently toss to mix. Season with salt and black pepper to taste.

I can taste summer

2. If you’re using frozen scallops, place scallops in a colander and run lukewarm water over scallops until they defrost. Heat the oil in a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Season the scallops with salt and black pepper to taste; sear until golden brown and just cooked through, 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 minutes a side.

3. Transfer 3 scallops to each of four serving plates. Spoon salsa over scallops, reserving 1/4 cup salsa for recipe number two.

Check back later today for part two of “Cook Once, Eat Twice”!

One thought on “A Taste of Summer

  1. […] as you know I tried out the Seared Scallops and Avocado Salsa from  ”One Recipe, Two Meals”  yesterday, and today at lunch I tried out part two, […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
