Part Two: 1 Recipe, Two Meals

Leave a comment

March 14, 2012 by Danielle

So as you know I tried out the Seared Scallops and Avocado Salsa from  “One Recipe, Two Meals”  yesterday, and today at lunch I tried out part two, the Savory Breakfast Waffle. I intended to post this recipe during my lunch break…but I had to do that work thing 🙂

My apologies for the unattractive office paper plate.

This was originally supposed to be a breakfast, but I was running late and felt like a TIU Chocolate Peanut Butter shake anyway, so I threw packed up all of the ingredients and took them to work. This recipe was surprisingly easy to make since I had prepared the salsa portion the night before. I was really concerned about taking the ingredients to work, but I just stored the egg in a tupperware container with the salsa, wrapped a frozen waffle in tinfoil. When it came time to prepare the meal (which took about 3 minutes) I cooked the egg in the microwave. Well I actually accidentally dropped the egg into the salsa, which I had to microwave as well because I don’t want salmonella…

Minor egg fail-but not ruinous!

but it turned out fine!

So without further a due-Savory Breakfast Waffles!

Ingredients

1 frozen whole grain waffle (I used Van’s multigrain)

1 egg

1/4 c. salsa from Seared Scallop recipe

Directions 

  1. Toast 1 frozen whole-grain waffle.
  2. Crack 1 egg into a nonstick skillet (or microwave for one minute!)
  3. Season with salt and black pepper to taste and cook as desired.
  4. Transfer egg to toasted waffle; top with salsa and a splash of hot sauce.
Today’s the last day to enter my popchips giveaway, so get posting!
Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
