Bake It, Don’t Buy It

1

March 27, 2012 by Danielle

Crackers were always one of those things that I always bought and never thought to try baking myself, but last week when I was trapped at home, I got a craving for crackers.

Faced with leaving the house or finding another solution, I opted for the latter. After Googling a bit, I came up with a great substitute from allrecipes.com. I added sunflower seeds to the recipe because I happen to have a surplus and they’re full of Vitamin E-I’m always game for getting in goodness where I can.

The recipe was surprisingly easy and the crackers were decidedly delicious. The only warning I have is that the dough has to be rolled out pretty thin to get the crunchy cracker consistency.

Sunflower Seed Whole Wheat Crackers

  • 1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup unsalted sunflower seeds
  • salt for sprinkling
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F
  2. In a standing mixer, stir together the whole wheat flour, all-purpose flour, and 3/4 teaspoon salt. Pour in the vegetable oil and water; mix until just blended. Add in sunflowers until well incorporated.
  3. On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough as thin as possible . Place dough on an ungreased baking sheet and sprinkle with salt.

4. Bake for 5-10 minutes and remove from the oven.
5. Use knives to perforate (not cut!) dough into squares and place back into oven for an additional 10-15 minutes-cooking until light brown and crisp.
6. ALLOW TO COOL (I burned my tongue) on baking rack and after completely cool, separate into individual crackers.

One thought on “Bake It, Don’t Buy It

  1. […] When I found out that my favorite Tone It Up ladies were in the April  issue of SELF, I decided that I would pick up a copy for some fun reading and look for new workout ideas while I was sick on the couch. […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
