It’s All in the Cards

Leave a comment

April 3, 2012 by Danielle

When I found out that my favorite Tone It Up ladies were in the April  issue of SELF, I decided that I would pick up a copy for some fun reading and look for new workout ideas while I was sick on the couch.

In the issue, SELF’s cover girl, Carrie Underwood discusses how she manages to keep her workouts interesting and effective when she can’t train with her personal trainer. She mentions that her favorite tool for keeping fit isn’t a complicated machine or a new age workout class. It’s actually pretty simple a deck of cards!

” I take a deck of cards and assign each suit a body area—say, diamonds for arms, hearts for legs, spades for core and clubs for cardio. I split the deck in half and write down exercises for each suit, a different one for each half.”

“So, if I flip over the six of hearts, I’ll do six squats. If the next card is ace of diamonds, that’s 14 push-ups. Sometimes I’ll make spades boxing and beat the crap out of the bag for however many punches the number on the card says. Having different exercises for each half of the deck keeps me from getting bored. I make sure there’s a joker in each half—that’s a mile run on the treadmill.”

I was getting a little bored with my workouts anyway, so I decided to give it a shot. Below is the workout I did. Repeat exercises one after another with no rest in between and the number on the card determines the number of reps that you do. Just make sure you shuffle the deck well- I ended up doing lots of sets of push ups one after the other due to my lackluster shuffling abilities.

First Half Second Half
Hearts pushups traveling pushups
Spades squirmies** Bicycle crunches
Joker 3 minutes jump rope 3 minutes jump rope
Diamond Squat w/ Overhead Press Side lunges with front raise
Clubs Burpies Rockstars

*Ace=12 reps, King=11 Queen=10 reps

**Lie on back with knees bent, face hands out inside of ankles and alternate touching inside of ankles with shoulders off of the ground

The workout took me about 40 minutes, kept me guessing and definitely provided me the variety I was looking for.  This is a great way to workout when you’re stuck inside, on the road, or just looking for something a little different!

And what would a post about Carrie Underwood’s workouts be without one of her songs? This is one of my favorites and I definitely belt this one out whenever I hear this on the radio (and secretly wish I were as badass as Carrie is in this video).

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
