Sweet Potato Protein Pancake

6

April 13, 2012 by Danielle

Say that three times fast.

I had a completely different post ready to go, but then I had some work to do got distracted by Real Housewives,  so that post will have to wait until next week!

Many of my favorite fitness bloggers and websites swear by the protein pancake. I first found out about this delicious variation on wheat based pancakes from Tone It Up, but there are a variety of different versions floating around on the web (see below!). Since I first discovered the recipe two years ago, it’s been a breakfast (and sometimes dinner) staple.

Last night, I found myself in need of a quick dinner and with an excess of of baked sweet potatoes, so I decided to put a spin on the protein pancake by substituting sweet potato for the recipe’s suggested banana.

The result?

Fluffy and delicious! I topped it off with maple peanut butter sauce. That recipe’s below too! I actually like these more than the original protein pancakes that use bananas.

Sweet Potato Pancakes

Ingredients 

3 egg whites

1/2 cup baked sweet potato (I baked these beforehand on 350 for about 45 minutes-or until my man friend told me that I had forgotten to turn off the oven…again)

1 scoop whey protein powder

dash of allspice

dash of cinnamon

1. Whip egg whites and then whisked in baked sweet potato

2. Mix in protein powder.

3. Heat skillet to medium high heat and add mixture.

4. Add dash of cinnamon and allspice to pancake.

5. Pancake should cook exactly like a regular one-flip it over when small bubbles start to form on the side facing up.

Maple Peanut Butter Sauce

Ingredients

2 tbsp. natural peanut butter (I used crunch but smooth works too)

1 tbsp. almond milk

1/2 scoop whey protein powder

1 tbsp. 100% maple sugar

1. In a bowl combine peanut butter and almond milk and microwave for 30 seconds.

2. Stir together ingredients.

3. Add in protein powder and continue to stir until ingredients are completely combined.

4. Continue stirring and add in maple syrup.

If you want a pancake fix, here are a few recipes from around the web-

6 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Protein Pancake

  1. I am definitely going to try this 🙂

  2. I made them this weekend. Definitely a winner. I like them better than the banana ones 🙂 I also added blueberries and almond butter. Yum.

  3. Ludivina Kuman says:

    i always take protein powder because they can help during heavy workouts and weight training. i always mix casein and whey protein powders. .:;:*

    Up to date content article on our personal web blog
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
