Meal Planning and HBO’s The Weight of the Nation

3

May 14, 2012 by Danielle

Why hello! For some reason Monday morning posts hardly ever come together for me. Probably because I spend Sundays doing things like this

Yep, that’s all mine.

instead of planning out my blog posts.

In an effort to redeem myself in the blogosphere and get ready for the week ahead, I decided to post on a Monday night and prep some of my meals for the week..

In the mix-brussel sprouts with garlic, salt pepper and olive oil for roasting, a SIAB (salad in a bag) and soup for lunch tomorrow and my piece de resistance, pulled pork made in my brand new slow cooker.  Thank goodness my workouts are all mapped out for me.

Even though my entire week of eats isn’t planned out (and lets be honest here, I’ll be eating leftovers since I’m cooking for one), planning out at least a few meals will get me a step ahead of the game.

***

In other (more important) news, I’m excited to watch parts one and two of the new documentary, The Weight of the Nation, which airs tonight on HBO. The project is a presentation from HBO and the Institute of Medicine, in association with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the National Institutues of Health. At the center of the project is a four-part documentary series, featuring case studies, interviews with some of the nation’s leading health experts, and individuals and their families struggling with obesity. You can find out more about the project here and even watch the films online on HBO’s official website.

Since I’m a documentary nerd, love learning about health related issues, and know that the obesity problem is not just a personal, but national problem, I thought I’d share a few facts I learned just from browsing the film’s official site.

Did you know…

  • More than one third of American adults and 17 percent of U.S. children are considered obese
  • One in four adults gets no leisure-time moderate or vigorous physical activity at all.
  • The obese workforce costs American business an estimated $73.1 billion per year.
  • The Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans recommend at least 150 minutes of moderate to intense aerobic activity every week for adults.

With that said, it’s almost 8 p.m. on the West Coast and time for me to tune in. For more information on the film, the obesity epidemic in America and steps everyone can take to live healthier, visit the official website.

Did you watch The Weight of the Nation?   Did you learn anything new?

3 thoughts on “Meal Planning and HBO’s The Weight of the Nation

  1. Love your natural hair!

    • Danielle says:

      Haha thanks! I decided to brush it out to see how long it was and it is SO long (and hot). Thanks for stopping by my blog! I checked out your blog and your nieces are so cute-looking forward to your 5k updates!

  2. I had heard about this documentary but wasn’t sure when it was on. I am going to see if I can find it online. Thanks for the heads up.

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
