Turning an Off Day On Again

Leave a comment

May 22, 2012 by Danielle

Mondays are “off” days in my marathon training, and while rest days are important during marathon training, I’ve discovered that everything (my mood, my food) gets off when I take a full day off, so I decided to get in a mini workout to de-stress and sweat after work.

First up was a mini yoga session. Even though I know staying flexible is one of the keys to being an injury free runner, I still skip out on anything more than your standard hamstring stretch and foam roller session after a run.

Hot-post run mess. Stretching is not a priority. Bravo is.

Sometimes I just don’t feel like stretching after a long run and I can barely keep my you know what together as it is, so stretching falls to the wayside. Sue me.

In an effort to correct my less than stellar stretching routine, I tried out  “Yoga for Athletes”, a 17 minute mini-practice full of hip openers and hamstring stretches and hosted by Ted McDonald. Even after only 17 minutes of hip openers and deep breathing, I felt more relaxed and limber and less in a funk.

Next up, triceps and abs from Cassey Ho over at Blogilates. I first came across Cassey and her blog during the Fiteratti Awards and she probably has more pep in her left pinky finger than I have in my entire body. More importantly, though-her workouts are great!

First, I did the “Payphone Triceps Challenge” which was perfect since I had just downloaded the song on Friday. In short, you’re doing tricep dip variations for the duration of the song Payphone by Maroon 5.

After almost four minutes of dips, my triceps are still seizing. Even though I use the song method for running intervals, I had never thought to apply it to resistance workouts-I’ll have to use this more often!

Following my triceps torture  fun, I decided to check out one of Cassey’s beginner pilates videos, since she’s a certified instructor.


Holy abs. This will now be part of my routine. By the end of this short

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
