Why I Run

Leave a comment

June 6, 2012 by Danielle

Unless you’ve been under a rock, you’ve probably heard (a billion times) that it’s National Running Day. I spent the entire day thinking about what I would write in honor of this day and couldn’t come up with anything.

Then, when 5:30 p.m. rolled around, the last thing I wanted to do was run the eight miles that my training plan called for. I was tired, I still had nothing to write about and had a million thoughts running through my head. After bribing myself with a few M&Ms and giving myself a peptalk in the bathroom as I was changing, I finally set out for a run.

As my run unfolded and I let go of the day, I realized that my National Running Day topic was right there in front of me. Letting go of stress, taking in the city and enjoying the journey was the reason why I have come to love running so much. So here you go, at the tail end of National Running Day, five reasons why I run.

1. Sanity-I’m not sure about you, but my mind runs a mile a minute. Running slows my thoughts to a manageable pace and lets me focus on the simple things,like putting one foot in front of the other.

2. Unexpected adventuresRunning always takes me unexpected places. Even though I often run the same routes time after time, I constantly notice small, new things on every run. For instance, today’s run lead me to the  SPCA (I couldn’t ignore the pull!) where I met this little guy.

There’s a handsome little guy under all of that scruff

Don’t worry, I’m trying to convince manfriend that he needs to become part of our family.

I also ran into this man who was walking his…

Yeah, this was for real. I was too afraid to take a picture or get close to this man, so thank internet for noticing him (source)

three foot iguana. Yes, that’s right. I had to do a double take.

3. Health-This one’s a given, but getting stronger and feeling good is one of the many reasons running makes my heart beat a little faster.

4. Overcoming Adversity-Unless you’re superwoman (or man!), a bad or challenging run is going to strike. Getting through those runs is always a physical, mental and emotional challenge for me, but in the end I learn something about myself.  Whether it’s finding out that I’m stronger than I thought or that running in the cold is not for me, there’s a lesson to be learned during every run.

5. The After-Sometimes have to pump myself up for a run, and one of the phrases I consistently use when I don’t want to run is “Run for the After”, which means that no matter how much I might not want to run or how difficult it might be to keep on going, it’s worth it because of the feeling of calm and accomplishment that comes with finishing a run.

I run for the after (run snack)

How did you celebrate National Running Day? Why do you run?

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
