Is That Really A Serving?

4

December 10, 2012 by Danielle

Last night when I was looking for an after dinner snack, I decided to pour myself a portion of dark chocolate sea salt popcorn and paused when I poured it-was I actually eating a serving size? Well, you’ll find out later on in this post, but first I’ll drop a little knowledge on you.

(source)

The bowl of popcorn, the confusion around servings and portions and my food scale got me thinking “How well would I do with guesstimating food serving sizes?” I grabbed my handy dandy food scale to find out. Read on to find out how I did.

Ghirardelli Semisweet Chocolate Chips

  • Serving size=15 grams
  • 70 Calories


ChocChip Serving Size w text

Womp, womp! I would normally grab nearly double the suggested serving size. That serving size looks so sad.

Red Wine (I used juice because we had no wine open-shocking, I know)

  • Serving Size: 5 oz.
  • 105 Calories

This one’s a doozy.

This is a depressing realizationThis is a depressing realization

Somehow it’s not shocking that I nearly doubled the suggested serving size for the wine. I live in wine country-wine flows freely here.

Dark Chocolate Sea Salt Popcorn

  • Serving Size=30 grams
  • 130 Calories
Popcorn Serving Size w Text

That happened!

Yes, I used the same image twice, but shockingly I was right on with this one. I’m pretty sure it was pure luck. Don’t worry I ate double the suggested serving size throughout the evening 🙂

So there you have it! Don’t worry, I don’t measure out everything I eat-that would drive both me and those around me crazy-but sometimes I do like to have an idea of what a serving is especially when it comes to desserts and items that I normally eat right out of the bag. If you’re on the go and want to get a good idea of how to pretty accurately gauge a serving, check out this post!

How well do you think you’d do with “guesstimating” serving sizes?

4 thoughts on “Is That Really A Serving?

  1. Kolbe says:

    whoa haha. That was super interesting… For the record though, I’m going to pretend I never saw the wine serving size…

  2. missmarisol says:

    For someone like me who still has a lot more weight to lose, a food scale is something I use every day. I was shocked when I saw how much my portions were compared to what they should be. Have you ever measured out 2 oz of pasta? Sob!

    Now more importantly, where does one get dark chocolate sea salt popcorn?

    • Danielle says:

      I have measured out 2 oz. of pasta and it is indeed depressing-my boyfriend looked at me and said “You must be kidding”. As for the popcorn, I got it at Target 🙂

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
