(Foam) Rolling with My Homies

Leave a comment

December 13, 2012 by Danielle

I’ll be the first to tell you that I’m not an A + student (more like a D -) when it comes to foam torture rolling, aka self myofascial release. Even though these exercises break up small knots in muscles and improve blood flow, which in turn aids in recovery, I’ll be the first to admit that it’s painful and the last thing I want to do at the end of a workout.

My mat, Runner's World and foam roller torture device of choice, the Trigger Point.

My mat, Runner’s World and foam roller torture device of choice, the Trigger Point.

While I knew foam rollers were good for releasing tension in muscles, I’d never thought of them as a workout device until yesterday when I picked up the latest Runner’s World and read a piece about using a foam roller as a workout tool. I decided to try it out and boy was it hard. I got through all of the planks, but the one armed push-ups and regular push ups on the foam roller were a lost cause in my book.

IMG_2360

Oh look! The Trigger Point roller is good for many forms of torture…I mean exercise and recovery.

Who would have thought that foam rollers were useful for more than getting out stubborn muscle knots. If you’re interested in checking out how to use your foam roller as workout tool, check out this month’s Runner’s World (or watch the video here) or check out this page from Women’s Health Magazine for more foam roller fitness.

Oh and just in case you were wondering, I’m taking my own advice and foam rolling while watching some old episodes of “Losing It With Jillian Michaels” and writing this post (multitasking for the win). Check out some great foam rolling exercises here.

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
