Workout Rut-BUSTED.

Leave a comment

December 19, 2012 by Danielle

I know this is a fitness blog, but this small corner of the internet is also a platform where I can express my thoughts and opinions and sometimes I have to pop out of my happy fitness bubble to address some of the weightier issues in this world. Don’t worry I’m not going to go in-depth or get political, but over the past few days my blog has been silent because I couldn’t imagine posting about missed workouts when there were so many more important things going on in the world. So before I hop into back into my fitness bubble, I wanted to take a few moments to send my thoughts and prayers to the families of Newtown and the those who were affected by the events at Sandy Hook Elementary on Friday.

——-
Now back to regularly scheduled programming.

Over the past week I could feel myself slipping into the dreaded workout rut.

Pile on top of time in Vegas-

181851_883980049742_1146660833_n

It’s time to sparkle ladies.

and plunging San Francisco temperatures and my motivation to work out dwindled.

Today, I finally got back in the proverbial saddle and did a Tabata workout during lunch and attended Barre Pro at Pilates Pro Works.

So if you’re feeling a little unmotivated now that the sun is setting at 4 p.m. and the holidays are in full swing, here are a few of my own tips to getting your sweat on when you really don’t feel like it.


Keep It short

No one wants to spend a ton of time slogging along at the gym, especially if there are cookies and cocktails to get to you don’t feel like workout out in the first place. Keep your workouts short and intense and you’ll be in and out in no time. Try out this Tabata workout from Oxygen Magazine.

Bring a Friend

Hell hath no fury like a bestie ditched. If you bring a friend along for a workout, you get in quality time and you’re more likely to show up (metaphorically and literally) for a workout. Check out this buddy friendly workout from Women’s Health Magazine.

Schedule It

If you schedule a workout, you don’t have to give any thought to the workout you’re going to do on any given day. Just git ‘er done.

Take a Class
Much in the same vein as scheduling your work out, no one wants to pay that $15 no-show fee. Also, taking a class always brings out the competitor in me (sorry, I’m not sorry).

Rest

If you’re really not feeling a workout, just take a rest day. If your body is telling you you’re tired…you’re probably tired, so just lay off any heavy exercise for the day and try again tomorrow-you’ll feel more refreshed.

There you have it!

Are you hitting a workout rut? What do you do to snap yourself out of it?

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
