Potato Leek Soup

Leave a comment

January 24, 2013 by Danielle

Last week, I received my first CSA box and I’m happy to report that I’ve been eating a lot more green things and I haven’t had to visit a grocery store-I’m a happy girl.

Even though the box came with a few ingredients that I knew how to use immediately, there were a few, like the leeks and celery root that I had no idea how to use (the former) and had never even heard of before (the latter). I was even a little bit adventurous and taste tested the celery root-

The humble celery root...and my reaction to its taste.

The humble celery root…and my reaction to its taste.

For the record, I don’t like celery unless it’s cooked, so I don’t know what I was expecting from raw celery root.

Anyway, I looked at a few Potato Leek soup recipes and decided that I could a) wing it and b) use all of the ingredients I had on hand.

The result?

I do what I can with my iPhone!

I do what I can with my iPhone!

Delicious! My boyfriend loved it which is an A plus in my book since he’s pretty finicky about vegetable consumption. He also suggested putting a little crumbled bacon on top (because what bacon makes everything better :))

ingredients list

Potato Leek Soup

Takes about 30 minutes start to finish.

Serves 5-6; 120 calories per serving

Ingredients
2 leeks
3 small carrots
2 cups low sodium chicken broth
1 celery root
1 lb 8 oz fingerling potatoes

Instructions

  1. Boil a large pot of water.
  2. In the meantime dice leeks, carrots and celery root. Set aside in separate bowls.
  3. Wash and skin potatoes and add to boiling water. Boil until tender.
  4. Coat a sautee pan with olive oil spray and sautee carrots until tender (5 minutes) add leeks and continue to cook until tender (10 minutes). Season with salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.
  5. When potatoes are tender drain and and set aside.
  6. Coat the same pot that you boiled the potatoes in with olive oil spray and add celery root. Sautee about 5 minutes and then add .5 cup chicken broth and simmer on medium
  7. low until celery is tender. The more you cook the celery, the less celery flavor you’ll get in the final product, so I tend to cook it longer since celery is not my favorite flavor.
  8. Add potatoes to food processor and add .5 cups chicken broth. Process until smooth.
  9. Add 3/4 of carrot leek mixture to potatoes and continue to process until smooth.
  10. Add potato leek mixture to pot of celery root, add an additional cup of chicken broth and cook on low for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  11. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
