Greek Yogurt, Avocados and Hot Sauce-OH MY!

Leave a comment

January 30, 2013 by Danielle

First off, thanks to everyone for hanging within me while my blog makes a little transition.

Next, HAPPY WEDNESDAY! I’m glad it’s finally Wednesday since I lost track of what day it was and thought it was Wednesday…yesterday.

Anyway, after rolling home from work at 8 p.m. yesterday, I was overjoyed that my boyfriend had made one of my favorite sandwiches for dinner.

Behold-

Delicious nutrition and a great option for all of your vegetarians out there!

Delicious nutrition and a great option for all of your vegetarians out there! With a side of popchips of course.

It’s from the Powerfoods cookbook that my best friend Cristina gave me for Christmas and it is by far my favorite recipe that I’ve tried so far. One of the things I love about the sandwich is that it’s highly customizable-I switched out bean sprouts for lettuce on last night’s sandwich and added sliced radishes that I received in my CSA box to the sandwich I’m having for lunch today.

After trying this sandwich for the first time, I immediately texted my little sister, who happens to be a vegetarian, to tell her how amazing this all-veggie sandwich is and that I needed to share the recipe with her.

IMG_2662

Even though I’m a little delayed in sharing the recipe with her, better late than never, right? Here you go, sis!

Greek-Yogurt and Vegetable Sandwiches

adapted from Powerfoods

Ingredients

1 avocado, sliced

4 slices of your favorite multigrain brain

4 tablespoons greek yogurt

1/3 c. toasted walnut pieces

Romaine lettuce

1 c. shredded carrots

Olive Oil

balsamic vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. Lightly toast bread.

2. After bread is toasted, spread greek yogurt on each piece of bread and layer shredded carrots, walnuts, avocado and lettuce on top of one slice.

3. Lightly drizzle with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

4. Season with salt and pepper to taste (and even a little hot sauce if you’re like me!)

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other followers

”FitFluential
