Ask A Blogger: Peanut Butter Runner

5

January 4, 2012 by Danielle

Happy Humpday! Hope everyone is getting back into the swing of things after the holidays. I know returning to work yesterday was a complete and utter shock to my system.

As a midweek treat, I thought it would be fun to share the next installment of “Ask A Blogger”. This time I’m happy to feature Jen DeCurtins, who runs Peanut Butter Runner. Jen’s blog covers a variety of topics from yoga and running to  her yummy eats around Charlotte-which just happens to be my home town!

Jen recently left her career in advertising to pursue her passion for fitness full time-in addition to running her blog, she’s a personal trainer, a group exercise instructor and  a yoga teacher. She also enjoys baking and going on runs with her golden retriever, Sullie.

And just in case you couldn’t tell from the title of her blog, her “can’t live without” food is indeed peanut butter 🙂

So here’s a little more about Jen!

Meet Jen! I actually bumped into her while she was hard at work at Starbucks.

If you had to describe your blog in 5 words or less, how would you do it? Delicious, Fun, Active, Inspiring, Positive

Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging three years ago on my recipe blog, Bakin’ and Eggs. I love to cook and bake and my friends were always asking me to recipes and ideas on what to make for dinner. I launched Peanut Butter Runner in April 2010 after hearing the questions “how do you cook and eat all of this delicious food and stay fit?” and “how do you find time to cook with your busy schedule?” over and over again.

What has been the best part of being a blogger? The worst (if you have one)? What has been the most surprising/unexpected part of being a blogger?

The best part of blogging is definitely interacting with readers. I love hearing their stories or hearing about how I’ve inspired them to try a new food for the first time or to practice yoga. The worst part about blogging is feeling so obligated. I try to blog every day and I feel like I’m constantly thinking about blog topics and photos in the back of my mind. The most surprising thing about being a blogger has honestly been how many people choose to read my blog. I’m amazed and humbled every day and feel privileged to share my life with my readers.

Any advice to those who want to start their own blog?

Have fun with it! Be patient and don’t get discouraged if only a handful of friends and family are reading at first. Take that time in the beginning to really focus on the direction you want your blog and writing style to take. Also, photography is important. You’ll get better at it over time just because you are taking so many pictures but also play around with photo editing software.

Aside from blogging and breaking a sweat, what do you like to do in your free time?

I really enjoy trying new restaurants, wine tasting, hiking, camping, weekend trips, reading and going to concerts.

What’s your favorite way to break a sweat?

I really challenging hot yoga class!

What are some of your favorite blogs?

Sweet Tater, Cate’s World Kitchen, Pink Parsley, Daily Garnish, Joy The Baker 

What is one moment where you totally and completely surprised yourself?

When I set a new 5K PR back in September despite the fact that I hadn’t been focusing on running. It gave me a lot of faith in my “runner self” that I’ve lost touch with over the last year.

If you want to know more about Jen, be sure to check out her about me page and her Lululemon ambassador page.

5 thoughts on “Ask A Blogger: Peanut Butter Runner

  1. […] Check out my “Ask A Blogger” feature on Danielle’s blog, Eat, Sweat, Smile. I answer all kinds of questions about blogging! – […]

  2. Cate says:

    I love this! Jen’s blog is one of my favorites!

  3. […] Ask A Blogger: Peanut Butter Runner […]

Leave a comment

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other subscribers
”FitFluential