What I Ate Wednesday

4

August 4, 2011 by Danielle

I’ve been making some massive additions to my Google reader and it’s now filled with nutriton blogging goodness.

Even though all of the blogs I follow are extermemly different and cover a variety of differetnt topics, there’s pretty much one thing that many of them have in common…What I Ate Wednesday, a tradition that was started on the blog Peas and Crayons.

Basically you take a picture of everything you ate Monday or Tuesday (or any other day of the week) and post it to your blog on Wednesday. Since I’m new to this and I have very little patience for reading fine print outside of the workplace, I didn’t realize that you’re supposed to post on Wednesday…not actually post the food that you ate on Wednesday. Oh well…I’M DOING IT ANWYAY!

So without further ado, my very first…

For breakfast I had a leftover Swedish oatmeal pancake that was too huge to finish when I went out to brunch on Sunday. Three days later, it was still heavenly. It had slivered almonds, whole oats and nectarine pieces baked in and I topped it off with some greek yogurt and natural maple syrup. Trust me, I’m in the process of recreating this deliciousness so I can share the recipe with you.

The perfect start to my day.

Snack-time! This is one of my favorites…greek yogurt with raisins, honey and cinnamon. I added a few pieces of Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Granola and some banana…GOLDEN.

Up close and personal.

I always make lunch the night before, so I’m not running around like a crazy person in the morning. Since I had made a batch of quinoa (one of my favorites!) earlier in the week, I threw together some roasted red peppers, feta, sauteed asparagus and garlic with some chickpeas. To pull it all together I topped it off with oil, vinegar and Mrs. Dash. Salsa that I threw on top is sadly not pictured.

Fresh

Snacktime, take two! I impulse bought some lychees and decided they would be the perfect snack. Here they are in all of their glory atop a college ruled binder.

I was invited to my boyfriend’s company event which was hosted at the SF MOMA. We were lucky enough to attend a private showing of the new Gertrude Stein exhibit, which featured works from Picasso, Matisse and Cezanne. It was really neat to see so many famous works of art up close and personal.

Even better…free food and booze! Don’t worry I didn’t go crazy. Since I had already had a glass of wine at an event for my office earlier (busy busy), I kept the wine to a minimum and made a pretty lovely app plate.

I could have gone back for seconds and thirds...but I didn

Since that delicious yet small app plate wasn’t going to cut it, I called it a day with a small bowl of almond milk, Kashi and that TJ’s Gluten Free Granola with which I am now obsessed.

20110803-102407.jpg

And that’s my very first What I Ate Wednesday.

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. So jealous you got to go to a party at sfmoma, sounds so fun!

    • dmwolfe says:

      It was definitely alot of fun and a welcome change to my usual weeknight activities. Are you an SF-er?

  2. great eats! I love reading other peoples’ WIAWs! 🙂

  3. […] two weeks ago, I told you about this magical new pancake that I had when I went out to brunch. I found a recipe and now I’m ready to share my take on […]

Leave a comment

Instagram

Instagram

Enter your e-mail address below for e-mail updates.

Join 1,306 other subscribers
”FitFluential